Epson Perfection V700 Reviews

$930.06 from Gamma Computers
★★★★ 4.1
Manufacturer: Epson
X
4.1 ★★★★
Based on 50 reviews.
 

Epson Perfection V700 Photo review

★★★★★ 4.6
Verdict: The Epson Perfection V700 Photo is a professional-standard scanner aimed at prosumers and keen amateur photographers.
Pros: 
  • Multiple film format scanning
  • build
  • price
  • bundled software
Cons: 
  • Fiddly film height adjusters
  • 120 film holder too short for three frames of 6x7
16 years ago

Test report Epson Perfection V700 Photo

★★★★★
Verdict: One of the few flatbed scanners, which we would like to present on our website is Epson's Perfection V700 Photo. Usually flatbed scanners are only somewhat good for the scanning of film material, since their picture quality doesn't come even close to the quality of a "real" film scanner.
9 years ago

Epson V700 Scanner -- Top of the Line

★★★★★
Verdict: We've been working with an Epson V700 in the bunker since July of last year, thanks to a quite generous loan from the company. Its distinctive dark gray and silver squared-off design takes up a corner of our large equipment table, connected to our main systems via a USB 2.0 port, the recommended...
14 years ago

Epson Perfection V700 Photo

★★★★★
Verdict: One tends to associate Epson's Perfection family of scanners with home users who simply want to import a few old snaps or slides for archiving or printing purposes. So the latest addition to the range, the Perfection V700 Photo comes as something of a surprise, aimed as it is at a much higher-end...
Pros: 
  • High-resolution fast scanning
  • ability to batch scan up to 24 frames of film
  • colour accuracy is excellent
Cons: 
  • Only appeals to niche users
14 years ago

Epson Perfection V700 Photo

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: "I'm sitting on 1,000 slides. What's the best way to get them into the computer?" is a frequently asked question I get from both friends and readers. Of course, the easiest solution is to send them off to someone else.
Pros: 
  • Speedy
  • Full-featured hardware and software
  • FireWire and USB 2.0 connections
Cons: 
  • No automatic document feeder option
  • Large
  • A bit loud
  • Driver has some annoying interface quirks
  • Frequently pauses in midscan to warm up
15 years ago

Epson Perfection V700 Photo

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: With the ever increasing popularity of digital photography, it wouldn't be foolish to assume that manufacturers no longer care about the loyal battalions of amateur photographers still dedicated to film.
Pros: 
  • Excellent performance for both film and photos
  • easy to use software
Cons: 
  • Software not so good for monochrome film
  • the high performance comes at a price
16 years ago

Epson Perfection V700

★★★★★
Verdict: Designed for quality-focused photographers, Epson's Perfection V700 Photo scanner looks different from previous models and sports several new features. The first A4 scanner with a dual lens system, the V700 has a High-Resolution (4800dpi) lens for reflective media plus a Super Resolution (6400dpi)...
16 years ago

no pdf!!!

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: The V700 seems to be a nice piece of hardware and the software allows for good quality scans to image files, but it will absolutely not produce a pdf. It will scan a document, a note appears reminding me that producing a searchable PDF require higher resolution, but when you dismiss the note the...
9 years ago

The Epson v700 is hands down the best and most affordable scanner available

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The Epson v700 is hands down the best and most affordable scanner for professional film scans available. In my experience, the performance increase a Nikon coolscan 9000 or a Hasselblad flextight will give you over this scanner is negligible; and the Epson is usually much faster.
8 years ago

but this is by far the best in home scanner for negatives

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: Had to fix a could things that came loose in shipping, but had worked wonders in scanning hundreds of old 4x5 wide format negatives. I have always preferred Epson scanners, but this is by far the best in home scanner for negatives.
5 years ago

PERFECTION V700 PHOTO 48BIT LTR 6400 X 9600DPI 4.0 DMAX USB/FW TPA

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Except that it has no printed reference book, it seems to be what I wanted and needed. Anexcellent product, but lacking on information.
Pros: 
  • The scanner works well and is exactly what I thought it was
Cons: 
  • No printed book
12 years ago

Fabulous

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Love this scanner. This was my second one I bought and does not disappoint. (Unfortunately my first one had an accident). Although this time when I ordered it I did send it back and received another one due to too many dust particles under the glass.
11 years ago

Commendable Results and Versatility

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: My objective has been to convert 1,000's of old 35 mm slides, film negatives and printed photos to digital images, and then to shed all of the old associated technology. The challenge in selecting a device designed only for film conversion is what to do with it when done.
Pros: 
  • great versatility
  • technical support very responsive
Cons: 
  • user manual insufficient
13 years ago

Epson Perfection V700

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I found the scanner easy to use and I am certainly no expert. I needed it to scan high def scans of old family photos and slides for use in reprinting. It has software that enables to you correct flaws in the photos or slides and they translate very well into good quality prints.
10 years ago

Excellent scanner for glass plates

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I bought this scanner to digitize antique glass plates and slides from a historical society collection. It does an excellent job on 8 X 10 glass plates using the Film Area Guide and on magic lantern glass slides (3-1/4 X 3-7/8).
Pros: 
  • Easy Setup
11 years ago

Nice for 120 film

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I use it as my 120 film scanner, and I use V ED for my 135 film. V700 is very great for 120, you however have to make sure your film is flat, otherwise the result will be a bit out of focus. The scan speed is very fast if you don't perform ICE. For 6 frame of 6*6, it is only 6 minutes(3200dpi).
Pros: 
  • Accurate Color
  • Easy Setup
  • Excellent Software
  • Good Bit Depth
  • Good Resolution
  • Widely Compatible
Cons: 
  • Difficult to Keep Clean
13 years ago

Excellent Scanner for Photos and Slides

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Highly recommended for quality and speed at a very reasonable price. Great for slides and photos. Avoid the more expensive V750 unless you plan to do wet scans.
Pros: 
  • Inexpensive for the quality
  • good software
  • fast scanning
  • quality images
  • easy set up
Cons: 
  • I honestly cannot think of any at this time
15 years ago

epsom perfection v700 photo scanner

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: takes abit to get used to but very good with negatives allthough i find it a little slow to warm up and dont think i have mastered it yet. but overall i am pleased with it.
9 years ago

"Epson"

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: After using this product for a few months I have not so far come up against any reliability issues but only time will tell. I therefore would recommend the product. However, always think carefully as to whether you actually really need something before you buy it.
Pros: 
  • Epson
Cons: 
  • Epson
14 years ago

v700

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: " So far so good, only had it a day but the results so far are great. A little disappointed with the negative carriers but once you get used to them there fine. Excellent results on scans.
9 years ago

Excellent Photo Scanner

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I have processed approximately 2000 colour slides, colour negative film and black and white negatives total. The quality settings are very flexible and the resulting scans are excellent although somewhat time consuming at the highest quality settings..
8 years ago

Excellent product. 15.000 ...

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Excellent product. 15.000 photos from films and slides scaned with ease and accuracy. If you have a big stock of photos don’t worry. Highly recommended.
10 years ago

Epson Perfection V700

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I am pleased so far with this product accept from the issue reported above, but look forward to doing more things as and when I get time.
9 years ago

Not as good as I had expected

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I bought this for our museum to scan some Edwardian glass negatives and I can't say I was over pleased with the purchase. It was pretty complicated to use. It had a number of 'masks' to use with different size negatives and of course if your negatives did not fit these masks then you were left with...
12 years ago

Picture Perfect

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I had an Epson perfection 1650 and it was long over due for a replacement upgrade. As I never had any real problems with my previous Epson I decided I would stick with the same brand an go for the Perfection V700 - a scanner designed specifically for photo scanning but that also acts as an...
Pros: 
  • Versatile scanner for more detailed reproduction
Cons: 
  • A bit bulky
14 years ago

Excellent scanner

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I've used this scanner side by side with a Nikon 5000D dedicated film/slide scanner for about two months. This scanner can handle many different negative formats without sacrificing resolution or color quality.
Pros: 
  • Great value
  • Handles any negative (or positive) format/size
Cons: 
  • Dust removal feature is poor
14 years ago

Great Scanner for all films

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I've used one of these scanners in college multiple times and was very satisfied with the quality of the scans. I scanned 35mm, Medium Format and Large Format film in it and all came out very nice.
Pros: 
  • Great image quality
  • Very affordable
Cons: 
  • none that aren't with every flatbed scanner
8 years ago

Epson Perfection V700 Photo

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: At $549 list, the Epson Perfection V700 Photo is not for everyone. But if you take your photography seriously, are demanding about scan quality-and particularly if you have a large print and film collection waiting to enter the digital age, this scanner well worth your attention.
Pros: 
  • High-quality scans for photographic prints and film
  • Modes range from full auto to full control over settings
Cons: 
  • Minimal optical character recognition (OCR) and document-management capability
16 years ago

Epson Perfection V700 Photo Scanner (First Look Review)

★★★★★
Verdict: The V700 offers 6,400-dpi optical resolution (9,600-dpi maximum hardware resolution with Epson Micro Step Drive) and 12,800-dpi maximum interpolated resolution. Transparency scanning is at 48-bit color with 4.0 dynamic range and 16-bit grayscale scanning.
13 years ago

Epson Perfection V700

★★★★★
Verdict: Powerful performer that offers leading scanner technologies and produces crisp & detailed images
Pros: 
  • 6400ppi film scanning
  • comprehensive media handling, fantastic scan quality
  • USB & FireWire connectivity
Cons: 
  • No ADF or image indexing utilities
16 years ago

Epson Perfection V700

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: I have now had the scanner 7 weeks and already one of the plastic slide retaining clips has broken, Epson denied their warranty covers this item and charged me a minimum £10 to replace the item.
14 years ago

Epson Perfection V700 Photo

★★★★★
Verdict: As with all scanners that include thin holders for film, those parts tend to break first, if any do. Warranty A good warranty and a few quibbles from users. The one-year limited warranty offered by the Epson Perfection V700 is standard among better-quality scanners, and most users don't report...
Pros: 
  • Multiple user profiles for varying levels of skills
  • Sophisticated software bundle
  • Two-lens system offers 6,400 dpi scanning for film
  • Film and slide adapters included
Cons: 
  • No automatic document feeder
  • 6,400 dpi resolution overkill for many users
11 years ago

Better than I anticipated

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Get this of you want to archive your film images. Serious amateurs and Pros on a budget will be happy with this scanner.
Pros: 
  • I've made a couple of scans from both film and slides
  • In different formats (6X6 and 4X5)
  • The image quality is superb
  • I bought this scanner specifically for it's film scanning capabilities
  • I have an all in one printer on a second system, so scanning documents was not even a worry.
Cons: 
  • Showed me how inadequate my printer is for printing photos - More money to spend I guess
10 years ago

Epson Perfection V700 Photo

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: With the ever increasing popularity of digital photography, it wouldn't be foolish to assume that manufacturers no longer care about the loyal battalions of amateur photographers still dedicated to film.
Pros: 
  • Excellent performance for both film and photos
  • easy to use software
Cons: 
  • Software not so good for monochrome film
  • the high performance comes at a price
16 years ago

EPSON® Perfection® V700 Color Photo Scan

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Found that the RS price was best buy online at the time. Original order cancelled, called customer service, they confirmed order and price were valid and in stock. They reordered another one for me. The order was cancelled again. I called to get a supervisor to find out why.
Pros: 
  • Accurate Color
  • Easy To Set Up
  • Good Bit Depth
  • Good Resolution
Cons: 
  • Slow
8 years ago

Epson Perfection V700 Photo Color Scanner

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The V700 is a very functional piece of equipment. Installation was shockingly simple, as simple as much lower-end scanners. I love it when a new device integrates with no issues. I set up the scanner, ran the install software, turned it on and got the drivers from the disk.
13 years ago

Epson V700 Perfection

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This is a Review for the Epson Perfection V7000 scanner. This is truly the best scanner I have ever used. The scanner itself is rather large and loud for a scanner, but it does an amazing job scanning in photos.
12 years ago

such a great scanner

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I mainly use the scanner for imaging artworks and for scanning medium format negatives and positives. I'm a photographer who still shoots film and has a huge archive of negatives and positives I need to scan in order to create digital files for safe keeping.
Pros: 
  • Accurate Color
  • Easy To Set Up
  • Excellent Software
  • Good Bit Depth
  • Good Resolution
  • Widely Compatible
Cons: 
  • Difficult to Keep Clean
8 years ago

Epson Perfection V700 photo scanner

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The Epson Perfection V700 Photo makes an excellent choice for a deep-pocketed photo hobbyist or a pro who needs to scan originals in a mixture of sizes.
Pros: 
  • Speedy
  • full-featured hardware and software
  • FireWire and USB 2.0 connections
Cons: 
  • No automatic document feeder option
  • large
  • a bit loud
  • driver has some annoying interface quirks
  • frequently pauses in midscan to warm up
15 years ago

HW & SW

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: The scanner works as advertised and its performance is "as required". The EPSON software meets the seem requirements and performance The Adobe and Silverfast software are so buggy and mal-functioning that they need to be salvaged. They are beyond redemption and take away from the scanner.
Pros: 
  • Easy to Use
  • Quality
  • Easy to Set Up
  • Performance
8 years ago

Great Workhorse

★★★★★
Verdict: I use this scanner in my dental practice for scanning documents and xrays for all types of record keeping. Its ability to scan all types of films and xrays make it very productive. The software is very simple to use and integrates well with other software. This my second unit after 8 years.
7 years ago

Defective product

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Had it shipped a few days ago and tried to set it up and there was a constant blinking red light. Called Epson and they said it was defective possibly during transit.
7 years ago

Epson Perfection V700 Photo review

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Do you have stacks of old prints and slides, and want high-quality scans? Perhaps you lack the budget for a dedicated high-end film scanner? Then consider this Epson model. It's a high-quality flatbed that comes with print and slide adaptor frames for volume scanning.
Pros: 
  • Excellent resolution
  • Accurate colour capture
  • Decent software package
  • Well built
  • Option to use a normal flatbed
14 years ago

Epson Perfection V700 Scanner

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: It's hard to argue with the incredible level of scanning resolution this model offers. You can scan images at up to 6400x9600, while other good models often only go up to 4800x9600.
7 years ago

Perfection V700 Photo Scanner

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I use this to scan transparencies for my presentations. It does the job fast. Actually, it captures every detail of the scanned images.
15 years ago

Epson Perfection V700

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I use this to scan transparencies for my presentations. It does the job fast. Actually, it captures every detail of the scanned images.
15 years ago

Epson Perfection V700 Photo scanner

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Over the last 2 years Epson has produced some exceptional scanners, the 4870 was a cracker, followed a year later by the 4990, which improved the package even further. In short they're great scanners for both flat reflective originals such as photo prints or documents but they also excelled at film...
Pros: 
  • Excellent scan quality
  • excellent range of scan tools
  • software bundle
  • easy to use
Cons: 
  • Slow software install
  • big'n'blocky design
  • flimsy film holders
13 years ago

Epson Perfection V700 Photo

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: main content "I'm sitting on 1,000 slides. What's the best way to get them into the computer?" is a frequently asked question I get from both friends and readers. Of course, the easiest solution is to send them off to someone else.
Pros: 
  • Speedy
  • full-featured hardware and software
  • FireWire and USB 2.0 connections
Cons: 
  • No automatic document feeder option
  • large
  • a bit loud
  • driver has some annoying interface quirks
  • frequently pauses in midscan to warm up
15 years ago

Epson Perfection V700/V750

★★★★★
Verdict: Our experience with the Epson Perfection V700 has been a happy one. It's fast. But it also delivers one of the highest quality captures we've seen in a flatbed. Sharp with good color. Our reservations start with the need for the height adjusters.
14 years ago

Perfection V700 Photo review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: It's been a while since a scanner aimed specifically at professional creatives was released, so it's a surprise that both Epson and HP are launching new models. Epson is first out of the gates with the Perfection V700 Photo.
Pros: 
  • Produces excellent quality
  • high-resolutiuon scans
Cons: 
  • Not as good as dedicated scanner for film
6 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

25 Exmouth Street, Eden Terrace, Auckland, 1021

X