Epson Perfection V500 Reviews

$586.27 from Gamma Computers
★★★★ 4.3
Manufacturer: Epson
X
4.3 ★★★★
Based on 48 reviews.
 

Epson Perfection V500 Photo flatbed scanner

★★★★★
Verdict: In autumn 2007 Epson put the Perfection V500 Photo on the market, a low-priced flatbed scanner with an integrated transparency adapter. According to manufacturer data the scanner provides professional quality thanks to white LED light.
12 years ago

Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

★★★★★
Verdict: The Bottom Line The Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner does a great job at scanning photos and negatives. It comes with some good graphics-editing software, including Adobe Photoshop Elements and ABBY Fine Reader for OCR.
Pros: 
  • Can handle negatives and slides
  • Great color restoration and dust removal
  • Software bundle includes Adobe Photoshop Elements
Cons: 
  • Light on instruction material
  • Large footprint
14 years ago

Epson Perfection V500 Office Color Scanner Review

★★★★★
Verdict: With the rise in popularity of multi-function printer/scanner/fax devices over the last few years, the standalone desktop scanner might seem to be an endangered species, especially around the office. Don't be fooled.
12 years ago

Intel Itanium, how is it doing?

★★★★★
Verdict: With all the attention currently going to 32 bit processors with 64-bit extensions, such as the Intel Xeon Woodcrest and Intel Core 2 Duo processors, it feels like the Intel Itanium has been given the cold shoulder.
12 years ago

Epson V500 Scanner : Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Doing my Internet searches found the Epson Perfection V500 at a best price of £176.99 including free delivery from the first link below.
14 years ago

Epson Perfection V500

★★★★★
Verdict: Easily one of the best photo scanners in its price range, especially for film owners
Pros: 
  • Easy to use
  • excellent scan results
  • removable transparency unit
  • dust and scratch removal
  • optional ADF
Cons: 
  • Light on business scanning
  • no Ethernet
14 years ago

[REVIEW-EPSON V500 SCANNER]

★★★★★
Verdict: This is a flatbed scanner with the facility for scanning film material as well as print pages. Epson says that this scanner is the first in the world to use "a CCD (Charge–Coupled Device) scanner using LED (Light Emitting Diode) technology.
Pros: 
  • This is the first dual purpose flatbed/film scanner from which we have taken respectable film scans
  • In fact we were surprised by the quality of reproduction from all media
  • We tried colour transparencies, black and white negatives and medium format negatives with uniformly excellent results.
Cons: 
  • This is quite a complicated piece of machinery and not at all intuitive in setup and operation
  • so why not provide a printed user's manual? It is a pain to have to have the scanner software open on the computer while at the same time trying to find the necessary instructions in an HTML document on...
15 years ago

Epson Perfection V500 Photo

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: For photographers looking for a serious scanner to help bring their old prints and negatives into the digital age, then the Epson Perfection V500 Photo scanner is a fantastic option. It's aimed at the enthusiast who is after quality, without the professional price tag and at £199; you get quality in...
9 years ago

PERFECTION V500 PHOTO CLR FB 6400DPI 48BIT LTR USB 3.4 D-MAX TPU

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Does exactly what I want, need. Haven''t tried the slide/film scanning yet but don''t have many slides left from the ''60''s! Speedy, easy web site!
Pros: 
  • Very quiet
  • lid easily stays partially open but well out of the way
  • super DPI range
  • immediately recognized and connected to OS X
  • quick ''warm up''
  • great controls for pre-scan improvements
Cons: 
  • Would be nice if it could be shared on the network
9 years ago

Great for Negatives

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I got this right after Xmas, mainly for scanning negatives. So far they have all come out great. If the negative is a little bowed, put the 'crown' up, if you don't, you will get some distortion in the image. Make sure to select the size you want prior to finalizing the scan.
Pros: 
  • Easy to use
  • one button operation
Cons: 
  • No negative feeder
  • a little slow
10 years ago

Epson Scanner V550

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Amazing how this machine can scan and produce excellent for the price. Slides,negatives and prints all turn out very close to the original document. I am very pleased with this scanner. Would certainly recommend to others needing one.
5 years ago

Good but with some major problems

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Overall, it's a good scanner if you use Professional Mode and adjust the image visuals manually. I do have two major problems with it though. First, a big issue with the software - the most logical option would be to allow people to adjust the marquee / image selection SEPARATELY from the image...
4 years ago

It's a winner!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: For the average photographer, this scanner does just about everything right. It gives great results, quickly and quietly. I particularly like the color restoration feature, which rescued a lot of my old, badly processed slides.
9 years ago

Highly rated product

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The scanner seems versatile and easy to use. The digital Ice program seems mostly useless hype -- why bother to offer. I'm not convinced this Epson scanner produces as high quality scans as my old Canon 9550F. I have a feeling I should have bought the Canon 8400F instead of this Epson.
Pros: 
  • Easy Installation/Good Instructions
  • easy to use
Cons: 
  • scan quality
12 years ago

awesome scanner!!!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I originally had an HP scanner and thought it was amazing until I jumped ship and went with an Epson. This model is perfect for basic scanning but also awesome for pictures and items that require more detail. For around $200, I would high recommend this scanner to everyone.
Pros: 
  • no warm-up time
  • great resolution/output
  • great features/bottons on the front
  • easy to use
Cons: 
  • the bed fits a 8.5 x 11 piece of paper comfortably but I wish it was bigger (really not a weakness tho
12 years ago

Nice scanner

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Not having to adjust the color of the lamp is a major advantage, and I'd assume LEDs last longer than fluorescents, though it doesn't matter because with scanners, the software usually fails to keep up with operating systems more than the hardware itself fails.
Pros: 
  • Easy To Setup
  • Good Bit Depth
  • Good Resolution
  • Widely Compatible
Cons: 
  • Poor Software
11 years ago

Short Life

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: I bought this scanner two years ago to digitize all of my old 35mm pictures & negatives. I had to let it sit until last month when I finally started using it. Installation was a snap and the software was well thought out. The scans were high quality - especially on my 35mm negatives.
10 years ago

Epson Perfection V500

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I have used the Epson V500 for several years, but also have experience with both the Nikon Coolscan V and 8000 ED. The Epson is a tremendous value and comes very close to what the Nikons can do at a fraction of the price.
Pros: 
  • -Scans of certain MF films can rival that of top-end scanners
  • Results will vary with native film contrast, development, and lens used
  • Recommended films: Acros 100, Plus-X, Tmax 100/400 II, -Quiet and reasonably fast, --Very inexpensive
Cons: 
  • -Don't have big expectation for any 35mm
  • Close examination will reveal lots of artifacts, poor shadow detail, lack of finest details
  • Don't use this scanner to show off you latest Summicron aspherical baby, -Scans almost always (except with high-contrast negatives) come out very flat, necessitating...
11 years ago

Quality flatbed film, photo and document scanner. LED light source.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I've had one of these for a couple of months now and it's getting a steady workout. My primary reason for buying it was to scan old medium format negs, (and to write it off against my tax liability).
12 years ago

Good for odd slide formats

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I bought the V500 because I had a collection of "medium format" slides (2.75" square) and this was the only scanner in my price bracket that advertised it could cope with that size.
9 years ago

Poor Software

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: " The hardware for this scanner is very good but the software is very poor. It is difficult to navigate and yields limited results. Adobe Photoshop is not much better.
9 years ago

Very Disappointed............

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: Wouldn't install properly on either Mountain Lion or Windows 7. Was not even usable on OS, and on Windows, it would only scan negs as a B/W photo of the whole setup. Will be returning tomorrow.
9 years ago

good product

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Digital Ice doesn't work at all and don't EVER press the "Cancel" button while a scan is in progress! If you do, you will lock your system forcing a power down to get it going again. Now mine has dead lights (or something) so every scan has a black line through the middle.
10 years ago

Epson Perfection V500

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This is a fabulous product at a fabulous price. I wanted to scan old family photos, some dating back to the early 1900s that were not in good shape. The scanner is not only easy to use but the results are excellent. There are slide cases, too, for scanning slides, which I haven't tried yet.
10 years ago

Great Scanner

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Owned this unit for almost a year and it still runs like a champ. Over 1500 scans have been done with no mechanical breakdown of the system. Again the image quality is just fantastic.
Pros: 
  • High image quality Good software controls
Cons: 
  • Power and data cables can easily become disconnected
8 years ago

Probably the best scanner for the money

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I have used this scanner for professional and private use on negative film and digitising old prints. The scan quality is impressive. Speed of scanning is good for normal density, but expect to wait a bit if you go to the maximum scan dpi setting (but the output is brilliant).
8 years ago

Fantabuloso! LOVE MY SCANNER!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: We use this product for two functions in our office. One is archiving all of our files and the second is scanning in many photos to put into DVD Memorials.
Pros: 
  • Easy to use
  • Great Scans
  • Nice Looking Unit
  • Quick install
Cons: 
  • Large footprint
  • Photos needed extra setup
12 years ago

Excellent Purchase

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I purchased this scanner in November 2008 with the intention of digitizing all of our family photographs, some going back as far as 1920. Working every spare minute scanning the negatives and prints the task was completed on March 1, 2009.
9 years ago

Epson Perfection V500

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Of course the driver software doesn't work on Linux (I wasn't seriously expecting it to!) so I had to comandeer my wife's PC. There are lots of options promising various degrees of automation.
9 years ago

Good quality and easy to use product

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I am very satisfied with my purchase. I use this product to scan various documents and old photo film. The document feeder is an excellent feature. The resolution is great and text recognition is very accurate. Working with negatives is very easy too.
11 years ago

Epson Perfection V500 Photo

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The Epson Perfection V500 Photo is one of the most impressive scanners yet for the price, delivering high-quality, fast scans in fully automatic mode.
Pros: 
  • High-quality scans for prints and film
  • LED light source eliminates warm-up time
Cons: 
  • A little weak on office tasks
  • but that's the trade-off you get for its focus on photos
14 years ago

Get 'perfect' scans of photos, slides, negatives and documents

★★★★★
Verdict: Epson America recently started shipping the Perfection V500 Photo, its newest flatbed/film scanner. At a street price of around $250, this scanner is the first in its price range to feature a LED light source instead of a traditional fluorescent lamp.
14 years ago

"Not so bad"

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: literature, a detail is a small piece of information within a paragraph. A detail usually exists to support or explain a main idea. In the following excerpt from Dr. Samuel Johnson's Lives of the English Poets, the first sentence is the main idea, that Joseph Addison is a skilled "describer of life...
Pros: 
  • Decent Scans
Cons: 
  • Price
14 years ago

Incredible scanner

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The first scanner I had was unacceptable. I wanted to scan old photos and make albums for each of my children. This epson scanner is incredible. Some of my pictures are 40+ years old but the color makes them look recent. It is easy to run, will scan four pictures at a time, and does so quickly.
Pros: 
  • Accurate Color
  • Easy To Set Up
  • Excellent Software
  • Good Resolution
11 years ago

Wonderful product!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend
Pros: 
  • Accurate Color
  • Easy Setup
  • Excellent Software
  • Good Bit Depth
  • Good Resolution
  • Widely Compatible
11 years ago

Works well but Mac Sierra & High Sierra will need a patch

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The Mac Epson Scanner Driver & EPSON Scan Utility v3.9.4.0 software is downloadable from the Epson website. However you also need to download a Patch from the same page under Utilities EPSON Scan Common Updater v1.0.0. This will download the required patch.
4 years ago

So far, it's a superior choice. Allows easy film use in the digital age.

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I bought this scanner to scan negatives, as I had it's predecessor (HP reviewed on here as well).
Pros: 
  • Excellent speed and image quality
  • good price
  • holds 12 negatives
Cons: 
  • Difficult initial setup for me
  • odd resolution choices
  • small number of slides fit
12 years ago

Epson v500 reveals OMD completely humbles RB67 results - (4x "full" frame)

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Good scanner, and very pleasant seller. Does my 6x7 negs and transparencies perfectly. I always thought my EM-5 bested the results I obtained with my RB67 and carefully processed film, but I had not seen the negs for a while.
8 years ago

Happy customer.

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: This scanner worked well once I figured out how to operate this item. Friends loved the picture I shared in Facebook. Finding the button that operate the scanner became an accomplishment. I am elated with this product.
4 years ago

Epson Perfection V500 Photo - flatbed scanner

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: My old printer had a scanner on it but for some reason it stopped working. So what I did was buy an Epson Perfection V500 Photo - flatbed scanner. IT didn't cost that much. I think I paid like $150 for it. Yes I know It sounds like a lot but really it isn't. Not for everything that it does.
2 years ago

Epson Perfection V500

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I use this scanner with Mac OS X. The hardware works well and the photo scans are of good quality. The software is another story. Download the drivers from the Epson website. Don't use anything else. Make sure to download the Event Manager as without it nothing works.
5 years ago

Epson Perfection V500

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This does what it says in the description copying photos and slides. The settings for the definition provide high quality copies for filing on your drives.
7 years ago

Epson Perfection V500 Photo Scanner

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: Just got an email saying that the two items ordered are not going to be arriving. That, in spite of the fact that Amazon.com still says that the pricier item is in stock. So why did I NOT GET my most important Christmas gift? Will not do business with this company again. Just too disappointing.
13 years ago

Nice Scanner for The Dollar

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The Epson Perfection V500 PHOTO Flatbed Scanner is a really nice scanner for the money. It is easy to install as well as operate. The Epson Perfection V500 PHOTO Flatbed Scanner performs as well, if not better, than other models that are much more expensive.
14 years ago

5 Stars for how easy this is to set up and begin using!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Scanner was really fast to set up. Very easy to start using. Minor annoyance with floaters. I clean and clean and clean the scanner bed but I never seem to be able to get rid of all the floaters.
7 years ago

Quick and Easy to Use

★★★★★ 5.0
Pros: 
  • Accurate Color
  • Easy Setup
  • Excellent Software
  • Good Bit Depth
  • Good Resolution
13 years ago

Owned 2 years so far

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I have scanned in excess of 3000 slides in the past two years; some of the slides are as old as 60 years. The quality of the slides have ranged from excellent to downright color-shifted. I've been using the manual (professional) mode and adjusting color balance and cleaning up.
3 years ago

SEEMS TO BE OK

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Seemed to have all needed features, so purchased V550 to scan large number of old historic family photos. Seems to be OK; other than had to re-load software 3x, before operations were relativley seamless; tho, still infrequently receive ERROR msg when scanning photos, having to reinitialize the SCAN...
3 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

25 Exmouth Street, Eden Terrace, Auckland, 1021

X