D-Link DCS-5222L Reviews

$881.70 - $928.00 from 4 retailers
Manufacturer: D-Link
Expert Reviews: 
 3.7
User Reviews: 
 3.6
 
 

Review of D-Link Cloud Camera 5000 (DCS-5222L)

3.5
Verdict: The D-Link Cloud Camera 5000 has a lot of potential. The specs of the camera are impressive and it is solidly built with the camera resting in a gimbal to provide full tilt and pan capability. Its main problem currently is the software that runs the camera.
Pros: Full-featured hardware, Good picture quality, Pan/tilt capability, IR sensor works well in low light, Wireless enabled, Works with Synology Surveillance Station
Cons: Expensive, Relies on Java for web viewing, Not inconspicuous, Jerky pan/tilt, Sporadic connection failures, Documentation could be improved
6 years ago
 

D-Link DCS-5222L review

5.0
Verdict: The DCS-5222L is a relatively large network camera. Its design is in part dictated by its pan and tilt capabilities, which mean you have more flexibility in terms of placement compared to a fixed-angle camera.
6 years ago
 

D-Link DCS-5222L Cloud Camera Review: Call It 'Professional Lite'

No reviews
Verdict: If you're looking for a pan/tilt IP camera for security purposes, but you don't need the top-shelf performance and design features that drive the price of more business-centric models like the Axis M5014 beyond five bills, the $250 (as of August 5, 2012) D-Link DCS-5222L is worth consideration.
7 years ago
 

D-Link DCS-5222L Review

4.0
Verdict: Pan, tilt, zoom (PTZ) isn't new to D-Link's webcams, but the DCS-5222L is the first with "HD" resolution. In this case, that translates to 1280x800 pixels. MyDlink-enabled cameras are different from many webcams in that you don't have to poke holes in your firewall or any of that rigmarole.
Pros: Doesn't require monthly surcharge to run
Cons: Clunky web interface; switches to night mode too easily
6 years ago
 

D-Link Pan/Tilt/Zoom Cloud Camera DCS-5222L review

3.0
Verdict: The D-Link Pan/Tilt/Zoom Cloud Camera DCS-5222L is premier network camera with an incredible amount of features. Read our D-Link Pan/Tilt/Zoom Cloud Camera DCS-5222L review to find out more.
6 years ago
 

D-Link Pan/Tilt/Zoom Cloud Camera DCS-5222L review

3.0
Verdict: This device has so many useful features we have only scratched the surface in this review. However, its a shame that with such a rich feature set the device is let down by a poor quality image sensor.
5 years ago
 

D-Link DCS-5222L InDoor Cloud IP Camera, Pan/Tilt, Wireless-N, 1280x720 30fps, Microphone & Speaker, NightView, Micro-SD Slot, Range Extender

No reviews
Verdict: Easy setup, Downside is the server you log into to view thing's very very very slow to load, Also you have to buy a 32gb sd card for it to be able to record. Wish I had looked around more instead of buying this one
2 years ago
 

Glitchy and poor resolution

4.0
Verdict: For the money it's not worth it. This camera constantly needs firm ware updates and falls off line often. It also has blurry resolution and can't focus well
5 years ago
 

Great camera

5.0
Verdict: This camera does exactly what it should do a great piece of kit
4 years ago
 

D-Link DCS-5222L

4.0
Verdict: i have buy a couple of surveillance camera and this one have good image quality and the night vision is working well. all the setting need to be done via the cam. web page. viewing and basing control can be done from any android phone,tablet, iphone/ipad
Pros: good surveillance camera for home
Cons: zoom and missing control when using iphone/ipad
5 years ago
 

Performance falls short of advertised

2.8
Verdict: I purchased the 5222L because of the excellent quality and performance of the 5020L. After it took well over an hour to get it connected to my wireless network and on the cloud site, It would not stay up.
5 years ago
 

My 2nd d link camera.

5.0
Verdict: Love this camera. I also have the weatherproof non-pan/tilt. We use in on the local network of our farm to keep an eye on our dairy cows. We have a terrible Internet connection. The option to keep everything on our own local WiFi (without bell) is amazing!
3 years ago
 

Great camera

5.0
Verdict: This camera does exactly what it should do a great piece of kit
4 years ago
 

great feaures

1.0
Verdict: so far so good, fast delivery------------------------------------------
4 years ago
 

Good product

5.0
Verdict: Fast delivery
3 years ago
 

tech support disappoints

3.0
Verdict: I've sent a tech support request to the DLink company and have not received a response. I can't get the two way communication to work and I can't get...
Pros: feeling secure when we're away
Cons: can't get the remote movement that it promised
5 years ago
 

Great IP Cam for New Born

5.0
Verdict: This IP Cam works great. Specially the night vision works way better than I expected. Now my wife and I don't need to check our new born by opening the door. I know some other people said it is really hard to setup. I was worry about it.
6 years ago
 

D-Link DCS-5222L

4.0
Verdict: Very good picture, features and easy set up. It is a bit expensive but worth it as it just works and is reliable. I have tried various Philips products, these are unreliable and a complete waste of time.
6 years ago
 

Performance falls short of advertised

2.8
Verdict: I purchased the 5222L because of the excellent quality and performance of the 5020L. After it took well over an hour to get it connected to my wireless network and on the cloud site, It would not stay up.
5 years ago
 

Its a beast...

4.0
Verdict: the website is really handy, it is able to get to the cameras from the website, it sends email notifications. You can configure motion detection. Its a well crafted piece of tech.
Pros: sturdy, software support, easy to configure, the MyDlink website, strong wireless signal, everything you need in the box. Advanced settings will make you proud..
Cons: pretty large - to the point of bulky, not - nondescript, you know its recording you, the IR sensor does not shine well through windows. But no overall deal breakers
5 years ago
 

very good product

5.0
Verdict: last user who gave this 1 star clearly has no idea what he is doing. this item does not ship with cd or manual, you go online for that. most electronics these days are moving away from that anyways since everything is online.
Pros: great in any lighting condition email snapshot feature is really handy
Cons: wps may be tricky if you've never done it before dlink full app costs 99 cents
6 years ago
 

Doesn't work with ASUS RT86U routers

2.0
Verdict: The camera and software is satisfactory, not stellar, but it does work. Unless, unfortunately, you're using an ASIS RT86U router and connecting via ethernet cable. The camera is unable to obtain an IP address however, if I try it with a different router, it does work.
Pros: Accurate
Cons: Difficult Setup
5 years ago
 

Very good camera.

5.0
Verdict: This is a wonderful camera. Seems to be good quality, works well in the dark, has an "on-board" Micro SD slot for recording, works off my Wi-Fi and the price was not bad at all. It does what it is suppose to do. There are many options and the app is pretty user friendly too.
3 years ago
 

Not terrible, but not great either

2.0
Verdict: Okay, the first thing to know is that their appears to be two very different versions of this camera being sold under the same ID of 5222L. They can be differentiated by the hardware version labled on the box and the unit itself as being either ver. A or B.
3 years ago
 

Great capabilities for security

5.0
Verdict: Had to return the first one due to a fault but this was replaced quickly and without fuss by Pixamania. The replacement is fine and I am completely satisfied with it.
Pros: The camera seems well built and very flexible in its set up
Cons: Software is not quite as intuitive as it could be. Not as easy for amature set up as the advertising suggests
4 years ago
 

junk

1.0
Verdict: wow, I tried to set this thing up and just plain could not so I had a friend of mine to come over and install it(he works with computers every day) and it took him over 2 hours to set it up.
4 years ago
 

D-Link DCS-5222L

5.0
Verdict: Absolutely brilliant camera!
5 years ago
 

Excellent ip-cam for the cost

4.0
Verdict: Very impressed with the D-Link for the cost. Web interface is decent and all functionality works well.
5 years ago
 

Great Price with my Rewards Points - Firmware Update Required - Needed Laptop to Configure

1.0
Verdict: All features of the camera work great now that I had help from customer service. D-Link gives you the impression that all you need is your iPhone to get the camera setup. That might be true if the firmware has been updated, but I spent a good half hour on the phone with customer service to get it...
3 years ago
 

Idy customer service rep was GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5.0
Verdict: My husband tried to set 2 cameras up by himself but he couldn't get wireless connection due to firmware upgrade issues--I urged him to call the Support Line-finally he did! IDY was super fantastic-she stayed on the phone with him for over 2 hours to help him download the new firmware and to set it...
3 years ago
 

Super Clarity

1.0
Verdict: Clarity is good. As usual, all D-link products are reliable.. not like other cheaper brands in market. I like this product.
Pros: 1280x800 resolution, rotatable 270 degree. monitor from anywhere
4 years ago
 

Good purchase, does what it needs to do and does it correctly

3.0
Verdict: I set this up for my family abroad to be able to see the baby's room and be able to chat with us. I give it only 4 stars since I have not had a chance to setup motion or sound detection, and I believe that the quality is a little low for "HD", also the 2 way sound could be improved, but overall it...
6 years ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X