Canon PowerShot SX700 HS Reviews

$448.44 from Gamma Computers
★★★★ 4.2
Manufacturer: Canon
X
4.2 ★★★★
Based on 42 reviews.
 

It doesn't have HDR? Really?

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: This day and age, we are kind of expecting some type of High Dynamic Range capabilities in these cameras.
Pros: 
  • Canon
Cons: 
  • No HDR
8 years ago

Canon Powershot SX700 HS review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: When it comes to advancements in the point-and-shoot world, it's all about high-end cameras with premium and unique features. Canon's PowerShot SX700 HS ($350), a compact shooter with a long-zoom 30x lens, demonstrates where the company is currently concentrating its resources (not with basic models...
Pros: 
  • Terrific image quality
  • Very good videos
  • Quality 30x zoom lens
Cons: 
  • Not great with low light
  • Creative Shot effects are so-so
  • LCD isn't touchscreen
  • doesn't flip out
8 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX700 HS

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: The Canon PowerShot SX700 HS is a compact super-zoom camera with an impressive 30x optical range. Announced in February 2014 it's Canon's flagship compact super-zoom offering not just the longest range in this form factor, but also full manual control as well as built-in Wifi with NFC for easy...
Pros: 
  • 30x optical zoom
  • Excellent stabilisation
  • Built-in Wifi with NFC
  • Manual focus with peaking
  • 1080p/60 HD video
Cons: 
  • Poor Battery life
  • Limit remote shooting features
  • No HD High speed movie mode
  • Inaccurate zoom magnification scale
8 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX700 HS

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The Canon PowerShot SX700 HS ($349.99) is a compact camera that packs a 30x zoom lens and a 16-megapixel image sensor, but is still small enough to slide into most pockets. It's got a big, sharp rear LCD, Wi-Fi, and controls that let you take full manual control over your photography.
Pros: 
  • Sharp lens
  • Controls noise through ISO 800
  • 2.5fps image capture
  • Creative Shot function
  • 30x zoom range
  • Sharp rear LCD
  • Wi-Fi.
Cons: 
  • Pricey
  • Detail suffers at very high ISOs
  • Limited control when using Creative Shot
8 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX700 HS is overflowing with features

★★★★ 3.5
Verdict: If you're looking for more than just a simple snapshot experience from a compact zoom camera, the Canon PowerShot SX700 HS should be on your short list, despite a couple shortcomings.
Pros: 
  • Along with its 30x zoom lens, the Canon PowerShot SX700 HS has fun and useful shooting options
  • built-in Wi-Fi with NFC
  • a high-resolution LCD
  • and excellent shooting performance and daylight photo and video quality
Cons: 
  • Its low-light (high-ISO) photos could be better and while its battery life is noticeably better than that of its predecessor
  • you'll still want to keep an extra battery handy for all-day shooting.
8 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX700 HS Review

★★★★★ 4.6
Verdict: Canon PowerShot SX700 HS Review - Canon's latest travel camera packs everything but the kitchen sink, but how does it perform when put through its paces?
8 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX700 HS

★★★★★
Verdict: The SX700HS sits at the top of Canon's range of travel compact cameras, the better zoom-endowed brother of the SX600HS and the replacement for the SX280HS – Canon has decided to skip quite a few numbers in this series.
7 years ago

Goondu Review: Canon SX700 HS

★★★★★
Verdict: Compact cameras are having a tough time these days with a slew of digital SLRs, mirrorless shooters and even smartphone cameras hogging the limelight.
8 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX700 HS

★★★★ 3.9
Verdict: Canon's new travel zoom puts a (surprisingly useful) 30x optical zoom in your pocket.
7 years ago

Canon SX 700HS

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: purchased this camera for my wife after considerable research on compact zoom cameras. Previously, she owned a Fuji f500 which had a 15x zoom, but would intermittently freeze up requiring the removal and reinsertion of the battery.
Pros: 
  • Easy To Use
  • Fast/accurate auto-focus
  • Good Image Quality
  • Good Image Stabilization
  • Great Zoom
  • Large Clear LCD
  • Nice Body Color
  • Short Lag Time
Cons: 
  • Poor Button Loc Thumb
7 years ago

Great Camera!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I must say that this Camera is something truly amazing and I HIGHLY recommend it to everybody, specially to those who are not professional photographers but want at the same time to learn about it and don't want to start with something big and expensive. The Camera has 120x zoom!
Pros: 
  • Incredible Zoom
Cons: 
  • Battery life could be better
7 years ago

Very Nice Camera

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: The 30x zoom is awesome, I don't usually like digital zoom, but I was surprised in the quality of the 120x zoom. it is a little slow to focus so fast moving objects are tricky, but this takes awesome pictures. My daughter is using it for her college photography class currently and loves it also.
Pros: 
  • Easy To Use
  • Good Image Quality
  • Great Zoom
  • Nice For Wildlife Zoom
  • Small / Compact
Cons: 
  • Low Light So So
7 years ago

Great Point and shoot

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Takes beautiful pictures. Easy to use. Zoom is incredible and very sharp when maxed out.
Pros: 
  • Great zoom
  • Great processor
  • Great image stabilization
Cons: 
  • None
8 years ago

Awesome Camera

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This is a great compact camera. I have owned other Canon Powershots and this one has the optical zoom that I was hoping for. I am an avid scrapbooker who loves to take photos and the combination of 16 megapixel and 30x optical zoom is great for capturing those long distance shots.
Pros: 
  • Easy To Use
  • Fast/accurate auto-focus
  • Good Image Quality
  • Good Image Stabilization
  • Good in Low Light
  • Great Zoom
  • Large Clear LCD
  • Nice Body Color
  • Short Lag Time
  • Small / Compact
8 years ago

Very good camera for casual shooting

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This camera fits perfectly between my Rebel XT DSLR, which takes excellent pictures but is bulky (especially with all the lenses) and a small and light ELPH 100HS point and shoot. It's a bit large and heavy for a point and shoot, but it still fits my pants pocket. It feels very solid.
8 years ago

Very Happy!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Unbelievable clarity w/ the x30 optimal zoom. Very simple to use. Audio quality very good. Overall, this is a great little camera, which you will be very happy with. Only negative is that they do not include a complete owner's manual; you have to download parts of the manual from their website.
7 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX700 HS

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Got this unit as a handy travel camera - main camea Canon D5 with 100 - 400 Zoom which is too heavy to carry around. Worked well and I am truly impressed - takes good pictures and is quick to use - I haven't played with the myriad of settings yet - just bought it - charged it up - and bingo.
7 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX700 HS

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I was very pleased to use this camera! I had an SD450 that I've been using for the past several years, which is now out of date. I really like that the functionality between Power Shot models is very consistent, meaning that I didn't have to re-learn a whole new camera. The 30x zoom is FANTASTIC!!!
8 years ago

Does not miss a shot

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Does not miss a shot
Pros: 
  • Easy To Use
  • Fast/accurate auto-focus
  • Good Image Quality
  • Good in Low Light
  • Great Zoom
  • Short Lag Time
7 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX700 HS review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: As the compact camera market continues to shrink, the outlay of new product seems to be surfing a common theme: zoom is increasing in a war waged with fixed-lens smartphone cameras.
Pros: 
  • Point and shoot ease or full manual control
  • close-up macro mode
  • good image stabilisation
  • decent image quality
Cons: 
  • Limited autofocus options
  • no raw capture
  • 30x zoom limitations at longer extension
  • no touchscreen
  • more basic than Panasonic TZ60
8 years ago

Canon Powershot SX700HS

★★★★★
Verdict: The SX700HS sits at the top of Canon's range of travel compact cameras, the better zoom-endowed brother of the SX600HS and the replacement for the SX280HS – Canon has decided to skip quite a few numbers in this series.
7 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX700 HS

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The Canon SX700 HS is the successor to the Canon SX280 HS , one of our favourite cameras of 2013. We like cameras that pack big zooms into slim bodies, and the SX280 HS delivered the highest photo and video quality we had seen from such a camera.
7 years ago

this is not one of your best. Fantastic zoom

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: Sorry Canon, this is not one of your best. Fantastic zoom, nice handy size, but terrible picture quality. Ok I have some top of the range cameras to compare this with, but I have had much better ixus cameras that are 10 years old.
7 years ago

Unbelieveable Zoom Capabilities...

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Having compared the Canon SX700 HS vs Nikon Coolpix S9700 the SX700 wins the day. Zoom capabilities are the best I have ever seen and Youtube reviews clearly demonstrated the cameras zoom capabilities. Far better than the competition. The only thing lacking is a gps feature.
7 years ago

Very happy with the camera

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Great camera. I used it in my safari trip. The small size and light weight allowed me proved to be very convenient on travel. The 30x zooming capability had proven to be very useful. This allowed me to take good pictures of animals at a far distance.
7 years ago

Easily pack 30x worth of optical zoom in your pocket

★★★★ 3.8
Verdict: Despite the small size of Canon's PowerShot SX700 HS compact camera, it contains a lens with a 30x optical zoom that can go up to 750mm. It's a massive reach for any camera, let alone one that can fit in your pocket, and it opens up a slew of possibilities in terms of what you can capture and how...
Pros: 
  • 30x optical zoom
  • Relatively easy to make manual adjustments
  • Good overall image quality
Cons: 
  • Mode dial location a little awkward
  • Some noticeable chromatic aberration
  • Wi-Fi feature not great
8 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX700 HS

★★★★ 3.8
Verdict: Despite the small size of Canon's PowerShot SX700 HS compact camera, it contains a lens with a 30x optical zoom that can go up to 750mm.
Pros: 
  • 30x optical zoom
  • Relatively easy to make manual adjustments
  • Good overall image quality
Cons: 
  • Mode dial location a little awkward
  • Some noticeable chromatic aberration
  • Wi-Fi feature not great
8 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX700 HS

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Coming at a price point of Rs 22,275 (For the red unit), the Canon SX700 HS seems to be decent choice. And to keep the camera ticking, there is the rechargeable Li-ion battery inside that lets you click 250 shots in various different modes.
Pros: 
  • Compact and sturdy
  • Stable shots even on maximum zoom
  • Host of features and modes
  • High Zoom
  • Full HD recording at 60fps
Cons: 
  • Stiff Mode dial
  • Tricky Wireless connectivity
  • Average performance in low light condition
7 years ago

Best deal for best Digital Camera

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: This is my first deal on snapdeal. I got the best price for Canon Powershot SX700 HS on snapdeal.Very fast and hassel free delievery. The camera is superb, easy to use and user friendly.
Pros: 
  • Easy To Use
  • Fast/accurate auto-focus
  • Good Image Quality
  • Great Zoom
  • Small / Compact
Cons: 
  • Short Battery Life
7 years ago

This is a perfect cam in point and shoot category

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This is a perfect cam in point and shoot category.. Easy connectivity. I could easily transfer my pics via wifi and nfc.. It avoids the hassle of usb and laptop. Pics can be sent directly to the Smartphone. Low light performance is amazing. Great shots in low light.
7 years ago

Poor Travel Camera

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: Purchased this camera for an extended overseas trip and found the resolution and color very poor consistently over some 1,500 photos. Picture quality got progressively worse as the zoom was used.
Pros: 
  • Compact
  • Build quality
  • Battery life
  • Screen size
Cons: 
  • Complicated
  • Screen size
8 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX700 HS 16.1 Megapixel Compact Camera - Red

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I'm not a real camera techie so I can't speak to that but it's a nice camera that takes pretty great pic. The zoom is amazing. I recently took this camera on a trip and from the 8th floor roof deck of the hotel I could zoom in on specific player in a tournament across the street in a large parking...
7 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX700 HS

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: If you want a camera that is simple to use, does a bit more than just point and shoot, takes wonderful photographs and has an extraordinary zoom then this is well worth considering. As ever great Canon quality too!
7 years ago

Great Camera

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Great camera. Excellent pictures for the size and price. Easy to carry with you, 30X zoom is wonderful. Easy to do video. Flash is not the greatest but it does the job.
7 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX700 HS

★★★★★
Verdict: The summer is a good season for traveling abroad, and what better way to capture that once in a lifetime experience than to capture memorable pictures. While most of us tend to just rely on our smartphones these days, having a dedicated camera still has plenty of advantages.
Pros: 
  • 30x Zoom
  • Built-in Wi-Fi
  • Plenty of shooting options
  • Good image noise control
Cons: 
  • NFC functions are limited
  • Can't be charged via USB
7 years ago

so pleased

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: It's 5 years since I upgraded my camera. I need a portable, reasonably lightweight one but I did a lot of research to find one with great specs for my money. This was a bit more expensive than I had wanted to pay but it has the same features as some MUCH more expensive (and heavier) cameras.
7 years ago

A featured compact camera

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: SX700 indeed a low budget compact camera with all the features needed for amateur photography. Very handy for awesome 30X optical zoom and stabilization. One may keep a spare battery and upgrade the memory card to 16/32 GB.
7 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX700 HS Review

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Want to know whether it's worth upgrading to the SX700 HS, or whether you should save some cash and opt for the camera's predecessor Why not take a look at our head to head. While the Canon SX600 HS is an impressive compact thanks to its ultra-compact 18x zoom lens and its wallet-friendly price...
Pros: 
  • Features
  • Performance
  • Image quality
  • value for money
Cons: 
  • Slightly fiddly Wi-Fi setup
8 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX700 HS

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The PowerShot SX700 HS is the new flagship model in Canon's travel-zoom camera range. Despite compact 112.7 x 65.8 x 34.8 mm dimensions, Canon has managed to cram in a 30x zoom lens with a 35mm-equivalent focal length range of 25-750mm.
8 years ago

Canon Powershot SX700 HS Review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: View Full Product Details
Pros: 
  • Good colour and exposure
  • 1080p HD video at 60fps with IS
  • Creative shot mode
  • Wireless connectivity
  • Remote control function
  • Excellent 1cm macro mode
  • 3inch screen with 922k dots
  • 30x zoom lens
  • 8.5fps burst mode
Cons: 
  • Zoom assist mode seems strangely implemented
  • Corners can be a little soft at wide angle end of the zoom
  • Lacks panoramic mode
8 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX700 HS review: 30x travel zoom overflows with features

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: If you're looking for more than just a simple snapshot experience from a compact zoom camera, the Canon PowerShot SX700 HS should be on your short list, despite a couple shortcomings.
Canon sticks to the tried-and-true formula of more megapixels and more zoom for the PowerShot SX700 HS.
Pros: 
  • Along with its 30x zoom lens, the Canon PowerShot SX700 HS has fun and useful shooting options
  • built-in Wi-Fi with NFC
  • a high-resolution LCD
  • and excellent shooting performance and daylight photo and video quality.
Cons: 
  • Its low-light (high-ISO) photos could be better and while its battery life is noticeably better than that of its predecessor, you'll still want to keep an extra battery handy for all-day shooting
  • Canon could have done more with the camera's NFC.
8 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX700 HS Review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The Canon PowerShot SX700 HS has a 30x lens and a lot of features, but image quality suffers in low light.
The Canon PowerShot SX700 HS ($349.99) is a compact camera that packs a 30x zoom lens and a 16-megapixel image sensor, but is still small enough to slide into most pockets. It's got a big, sharp rear LCD, Wi-Fi, and controls that let you take full manual control over your photography. These features are matched note for note by our Editors' Choice Nikon Coolpix S9700( at Amazon). The S9700 edges out the SX700 when pushed to ISO 800 and adds in-camera GPS, but aside from those differences two cameras are quite similar. Design and Features The SX700( at Amazon) is a little bulkier than your average point and shoot, but it's pretty compact when you consider that it packs a 30x (25-750mm f/3.2-6.9 equivalent) zoom lens. It measures 2.6 by 4.4 by 1.4 inches (HWD) and weighs 9.5 ounces. Canon offers it in red or black, and there's a modest front handgrip that does its job in making the camera comfortable to hold. Its size is about average for a long zoom camera of this type; the Panaso...
Pros: 
  • Sharp lens
  • Controls noise through ISO 800
  • 2.5fps image capture
  • Creative Shot function
  • 30x zoom range
  • Sharp rear LCD
  • Wi-Fi
  • 1080p60 video
Cons: 
  • Pricey
  • Detail suffers at very high ISOs
  • Limited control when using Creative Shot
8 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

25 Exmouth Street, Eden Terrace, Auckland, 1021

X