Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Reviews

$518.36 - $712.94 from Gamma Computers
★★★★ 4.2
Manufacturer: Canon
X
4.2 ★★★★
Based on 77 reviews.
 

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: For users seeking a camera with a super-long zoom without having to venture into DSLR territory, the SX50 HS is a compelling choice.
Pros: 
  • Industry-leading 24-1200mm 50x optical zoom
  • Rich
  • accurate colors
  • Excellent image stabilization system
Cons: 
  • Noise issues at higher ISOs
  • Video frame rate behind the times
  • EVF should be larger
9 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS

★★★★ 3.6
Verdict: For photographers who just can't get enough telephoto power, there's the Canon PowerShot SX50 HS HS. This camera packs a whopping 50X, 24 - 1200mm lens, which is more than you'll find on any other super zoom on the market (at least for now).
Pros: 
  • Very good photo quality for a super-zoom
  • Enormous 50X
  • 24 - 1200mm equivalent lens
  • Optical image stabilization
  • with Intelligent IS feature that selects the right IS mode for you
  • Sharp
  • rotating 2.8" LCD display with 461,000 pixels offers good outdoor and low light visibility
  • Full manual...
Cons: 
  • Likes to clip highlights (hint: use DR correction
  • Noise becomes pretty intense at ISO 800 and beyond
  • Redeye a problem (though removal tool in playback mode helps
  • Electronic viewfinder isn't great
  • Slow max framerate of ~1fps with AF (but increasing to 2fps with AF/AE lock and 12.8fps in High...
9 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Digital Camera Review

★★★★★
Verdict: Super-zoom cameras were already passing epic magnification levels last year, so it is with no shortage of bewildered fascination that we sit here reviewing the world's first consumer still camera to offer 50x optical zoom.
Pros: 
  • Ridiculous 50x optical zoom
  • Solid overall image quality
  • especially for a super-zoom
Cons: 
  • Sharpness is due to software
  • not optics
  • No construction improvements over the SX40 HS
9 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: The bridge area of the compact camera market is one part of the market that is still doing well in what is otherwise a declining segment.
9 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Review

★★★★★
Verdict: Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Review - The SX50 HS boasts impressive features on paper, but read on to find out how it fares in the full What Digital Camera review
Pros: 
  • Focal range
  • Handling
  • Image quality
  • RAW and RAW +JPEG capture
  • Accessory hot shoe
Cons: 
  • Focus performance
  • Low power built-in flash
  • High ISO noise
  • Lack of Raw in manual modes
8 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS review

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: The bridge area of the compact camera market is one part of the market that is still doing well in what is otherwise a declining segment. Manufacturers are packing larger and larger zooms onto these cameras which, for many, act as an alternative to a DSLR, or a step up from a standard compact...
9 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS review Review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: With a 50x zoom, this dSLR lookalike is versatile, powerful and capable of some great results.
Pros: 
  • Long zoom
  • Manual controls
  • Plenty of detail at all light levels
Cons: 
  • Wind noise on movies
  • Minor colour fringing on some sharp contrasts
9 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Ultra-zoom cameras are incredibly versatile, taking wide-angle, telephoto and macro photography in their stride. The best models cope well in low light too. Last year's Canon SX40 HS led the field for image quality, particularly in low light, but narrowly missed out on an award because of its...
9 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Canon's PowerShot SX50 HS replaces the PowerShot SX40 HS at the top of the company's ultra-zoom digicam range. Offering 50x optical zooming, it retains the 12.1-megapixel back-illuminated sensor and DIGIC 5 image processor of its predecessor.
9 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS

★★★★★
Verdict: Canon SX50 HS was launched in the market as a replacement for the earlier SX40 HS model. It is a superb digital camera with a 12MP sensor and 50x zoom lens that is equivalent to a focal length of 24-1200mm.
Pros: 
  • Super zoom
  • smooth performance
  • great results
Cons: 
  • Slightly bulky body
9 years ago

love it

★★★★★ 2.6
Verdict: I bought mine on the 12/12/12 in St Marteen. been using it regularly, i am a beginner but the auto feature is doing all I need. Love it.
5 years ago

SX50 Single best "Bridge"

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: As a presenter of small group and individual workshops I keep a few superzooms on hand for participants who bring no DSLR to use. The Canon SX50 is the single best "second-best" alternative to a good DSLR that I have found.
Pros: 
  • Fast/accurate auto-focus
  • Good Image Quality
  • Good Image Stabilization
  • Good in Low Light
  • Great Zoom
  • Large Clear LCD
  • Short Lag Time
Cons: 
  • Limited Lg Sm Apertures
  • Small Grip-large Hand
9 years ago

Canon SX50

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: I'm relatively new to the photography world, having used the Canon G12 for the past couple of years. The G12 is great for travel and outdoor adventures, but marginal for sports/action shots.
Pros: 
  • I'm relatively new to the photography world, having used the Canon G12 for the past couple of years
  • The G12 is great for travel and outdoor adventures, but marginal for sports/action shots.
Cons: 
  • The G12 case and dials feel solid like a high-end camera
  • By comparison, the SX50 feels less solid (more plastic)
  • I also am sorry to lose the exposure compensation and ISO dials that are part of the G12.
9 years ago

Love this camera

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I received this camera for Christmas, and was so impressed with the ease of using it . this is a great camera for a beginner and takes some lovely pictures and great video.
Pros: 
  • Easy to use and pictures are so beautiful
Cons: 
  • so far there is not anything I could say bad about this
9 years ago

Awesome !!! . . .

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Before I purchased this product I studied all the reviews & info I could find as I was updating my 4 year old Panasonic & have to mega-trips planned & wanted the Biggest Bang for the Buck in a small package. I read one review that said you could get a shot of the creaters on the Moon.
Pros: 
  • Easy To Use
  • Fast/accurate auto-focus
  • Good Image Quality
  • Good Image Stabilization
  • Good in Low Light
  • Great Zoom
  • Large Clear LCD
  • Nice Body Color
  • Short Lag Time
  • Small / Compact
9 years ago

Canon Powershot SX50 HS

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The SX50 HS sports the longest zoom lens in the world
Pros: 
  • 50x zoom
  • HD (1080p) movie mode
  • DIGIC 5 processor
Cons: 
  • soft telephoto images
  • expensive
9 years ago

Great Camera for many purposes

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Amazing camera! Has a great optical zoom and the ability to customize the settings. We use the cameras for pleasure and business. Exceeds my expectations.
6 years ago

AMAZING camera! the Mini Rebel!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: i've been wanting this camera for a VERY long time. it finally went onto clearance, with five easy pays. this is the camera i've been searching for ,for YEARS! i do have the Canon Rebel T3i, and nothing has ever compared... except this.
9 years ago

Here is a real review

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I am not a paid reviewer to praise or slam this product like the previous ones appear to be. I am in a digital photography class at the local college. I had a PowerShot A30, but it couldn't do all the requirements of class. I saw another Canon that was a step up from mine. It was [$].
9 years ago

Awesome for the money

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: It is an awesome camera, but you will need a tripod to take incredible distance photos. My borther took photos of the moon and you can see the craters. Also took a shot of a hawk enjoying its prey.
9 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS review

★★★★ 4.3
Verdict: In AP 9 June 2012, we tested eight cameras in a six-page bridge camera group test. Included was the Canon PowerShot SX40 HS, which fared well against the competition but without being a class leader. The Canon PowerShot SX50 HS on test here is the SX40 HS's replacement.
9 years ago

Nice all rounder with a few niggles

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I purchased this camera a couple of weeks ago as a general all round camera, in addition to a Canon DSLR, to avoid those times when you have to keep changing lenses.In general the camera is great but a few minor niggles take the shine off of the overall experience.Firstly the auto focus can be a
Pros: 
  • Bright LCD
  • Comfortable Controls
  • Great Picture Quality
Cons: 
  • Lack Raw Option In Auto
  • Manual Flash
  • Slow Focus
9 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: It is almost like SX40 few things added like extra zoom , good IS , Frame Asist , good LCD Few -ve - not good for sports , EVF is not good , focus issue at 1200 mm end
Pros: 
  • Zoom
  • Image
Cons: 
  • EVF
9 years ago

Brilliant Zoom

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I bought this for my wife to replace another bridge camera that broke. This one has the variable angle screen which appears on most cameras now and the controls reflect the more professional SLR s for Canon.
8 years ago

FANTASTIC CAMERA

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This camera is easy to use and produces stunning results. It is an ideal "bridge" between a "point and shoot" and an SLR. The zoom is stunning for a relatively small camera. The viewfinder even incorporates a neat and unobtrusive spirit level. There is no case ,computer lead or memory card.
9 years ago

excellent

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: very good camera, the best i have owned
9 years ago

Great Camera

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: My last Camera is a Lumex DMC FZ18 I started with this Camera for the long 16 times zoom lens and I shot well over 10.000 Pictures with itI was always Happy with this camera however I told friends about it and told them that I would be more happy to see a hot shoe and a adjustable screen on it so
9 years ago

Can do 95% of what a DSLR can and at a good price.

★★★★★ 4.8
Verdict: The largest zoom of all time! The best macro and amazing array a features and lens effects.You can even shoot craters on the moon!
Pros: 
  • Reliable
  • Durable
  • Superior build quality
  • Easy to use
9 years ago

Great quality pics and videos

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This camera has great zoom and fantastic piture quality. It has a nice long burst shot and it i very easy to use. This has some great features and great video quality.
9 years ago

king of zooOOming!!!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: had a lot of confusion over nikon p510 and sx50hs..in many reviews it was said that nikon p510's image quality is stellar and it has more megapixels..I've approached a professional photographer about the megapixel confusion and he solved my year long confusion.
9 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS

★★★★ 4.2
Verdict: The Canon PowerShot SX50 HS is a super-zoom camera with a 50x, yes that's right, 50x optical zoom. Launched in September 2012 the PowerShot SX50 HS is the World's first camera with a 50x optical zoom and replaces the SX40 HS with its now comparatively modest-sounding 35x zoom.
Pros: 
  • Awesome 50x 24-1200mm zoom
  • Excellent 5 stop intelligent stabilisation
  • 2.8in 460k articulated LCD screen
  • Good auto exposure and focus bracketing
Cons: 
  • Small f3.4-6.5 maximum aperture
  • Low resolution EVF
  • Short burst mode of less than 1 second
  • Poor battery life
  • No screen/EVF toggle button or sensor
9 years ago

Canon Powershot SX50 HS

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: As the flagship Canon ultra-zoom, the Canon Powershot SX50 HS sports the longest optical zoom ever built into a digital camera. With an equivalent focal-range of 24 to 1200mm, the SX50 HS is king of zooms. Even with this 50X zoom ratio, the SX50 HS is not the biggest ultra-zoom.
Pros: 
  • Class-leading 50X optical zoom
  • Nice retention of details
  • Good metering system
  • Punchy image colors but no too much
  • Excellent white-balance
  • Class-leading 0cm macro focus
  • Impressive stabilization
  • Sensitive autofocus
  • Resists purple fringing
  • Intuitive user-interface
  • Innovative framing aid,...
Cons: 
  • Useless ISO 3200 & 6400 sensitivities
  • Noise visible at all ISO
  • Limited dynamic range
  • Max 1s shutter-speed above ISO 80
  • Sluggish autofocus
  • High distortion near wide-angle
  • Miniscule EVF
  • No EVF/LCD toggle
  • Control-dial too slim
  • Weak LCD hinge
  • Short battery-life
9 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS

★★★★★
Verdict: DR Correction reduces highlight clipping (another common flaw on ultra-zooms) by boosting ISO. High Dynamic Range does the same thing by shooting three different exposures of the same scene and layering them, which has the added bonus of unearthing detail from black shadows.
Pros: 
  • 50x zoom the longest you can buy
  • Very good image quality for its class
  • Full manual controls and a great auto mode
  • RAW support and hot shoe
  • Swiveling LCD screen
Cons: 
  • Some image flaws
  • like fringing and over-sharpening
  • Bulky and heavy
  • Subpar viewfinder
9 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS

★★★★★
Verdict: With a 50x optical zoom that delivers an amazing 24-1200mm-equivalent range, the Canon SX50 HS brings distant subjects up close and personal -- and it does so with intelligence and grace.
Pros: 
  • Whopping 50x optical zoom range from a generous 24mm equivalent wide angle to powerful 1200mm equivalent telephoto
  • Improved Intelligent IS allows for sharp hand-held shots
  • even at full zoom
  • Ergonomic design and build with a good grip and excellent control placement
  • Zoom Framing Assist helps you
Cons: 
  • Autofocus frequently struggles to lock in on subjects in low light
  • Slow lens also not ideal for low-light photography
  • Center frame details are a hint soft at some zoom settings
  • Blurring is noticeable in the corners in some shots
  • Uncorrected RAW files have lots of chromatic aberration and
9 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Review

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: The Canon PowerShot SX50 HS camera carries one of the largest zoom lenses you'll find on a fixed lens digital camera -- 50X -- as well as an articulated LCD screen.
8 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Shooting extreme close-ups of subjects requires a good super-zoom lens, especially when it comes to wildlife and architecture. A DSLR with a super telephoto lens (the ones you see in sports photography during matches) would be any photographer's dream.
9 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS

★★★★★
Verdict: In that mid-price range of around $500, though, the market is seeing a convergence of cameras. You'll find beginner-level DSLRs and other interchangeable lens cameras (ILC) here, as well as advanced fixed-lens cameras with large image sensors.
Pros: 
  • 50x optical zoom is a great feature
  • Zoom motor works fast
  • going from wide angle to full telephoto
  • Popup flash provides good low light results
  • Hot shoe also allows you to add an external flash if needed
  • SX50 works well in fully automatic mode
  • Camera is also a strong performer in manual and...
Cons: 
  • SX50 has smaller image sensor than what's expected in this price range
  • SX50's response times are a bit choppy
  • depending on scene
  • You'll see "busy" on the screen more than you should between shots
  • LCD screen is a little small
  • Sharpness and image quality in EVF could be better
  • SX50 doesn't...
9 years ago

Weakly

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: Had a Canon SX 30 a few years back sold the SX 30 looking to go the next step up...Sadly wish I still had the SX 30 around despite going through lots of double AA batteries. There were less presets but the camera didn't need it with such great capture If your a professional or semi-professional save...
Pros: 
  • Quality photos
  • numerous presets
  • Lithium Battery
Cons: 
  • Lens gave out after a year and the lens is not removable or repairable on these hybrids
  • Canon covered the first replacement but after a month of use with the refurb the same, "Lens error, camera will restart." thing started happening again.
8 years ago

Unbeatable!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I've owned the SX30 and the SX40 too. I am very happy with this camera's performance, quality and price. Keeping this camera under the price of the SLR's ensure it's spot on the market. Other companies are rushing to catch up with this powerful zoom!
9 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: It's hard to ignore the Canon PowerShot's SX50 HS's 50x optical zoom. Never before has a superzoom laid a 24-1200mm equivalent lens on the features table - something that, in terms of maximum focal length, leaves all other superzooms in the shade.
Pros: 
  • Raw shooting
  • decent optical image stabilisation system
  • vari-angle LCD
  • among the best superzoom image quality at lower ISO settings
  • close-up macro mode
Cons: 
  • Chromatic aberrations
  • limited maximum aperture at longer focal lengths (and less bright than predecessor)
  • auto-area focus can decide to focus on some strange areas
  • small viewfinder
  • shorter battery life than predecessor
  • stabilisation struggles at longest focal lengths
9 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Digital Camera Review

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: Looking for a compact camera with lots of optical zoom? You won't find more than the 50x found on the Canon PowerShot SX50 HS.
Pros: 
  • Excellent amount of optical zoom
  • 0cm minimum focusing distance
  • Good rate of continuous shooting a full resolution
  • Swivel screen
  • Excellent battery life
  • Excellent image quality
  • Great noise performance at higher ISO's
Cons: 
  • Screen is a little small
  • Price is comparable to entry-level DSLRs
  • Have to activate EVF with a button press
9 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: The combination of a large focal range and relatively compact body make bridge cameras increasingly popular for those looking for a more advanced shooting option without the burden of carrying around large lenses and a bulky body.
Pros: 
  • Huge 50x optical zoom
  • Hotshoe for accessories
  • Articulated screen
Cons: 
  • Occasional issues with focusing
  • Poor quality EVF
  • Bulky and unrefined design
8 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS

★★★★★
Verdict: The Canon PowerShot SX50 HS is a brand new super-zoom camera sporting a 50x zoom lens which is equivalent to a focal length of 24-1200mm. Replacing the previous SX40 HS model, the SX50 HS features a 12 megapixel back-illuminated sensor, DIGIC 5 image processor, 4.5-stop optical Image Stabilizer with...
9 years ago

Good camera, shame about the selection wheel !

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The SX50's selection wheel is located on the back of the camera and is difficult to use. It is the outer ring of a three layer control and trying to select aperture value or shutter speed or set exposure compensation is virtually impossible without pressing the self timer section of the inner ring...
8 years ago

Great camera

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Love the quality of pictures and the super zoom. Very nice that this is also a wide angle camera. Overall a very good buy for the price. There is only one thing that really annoys me and that is the location of the function knob.
9 years ago

A1! Huge camera performance in a small, affordable package, recommend it.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: We were tossing up between this camera and a Sony to replace our Nikon and partner our Lumix. We chose this camera because of the huge zoom and range of lens settings it was capable of. The picture quality is superb, the zoom makes even the most distant animal seem upclose and personal.
9 years ago

Quick Review - Canon SX50 HS

★★★★★
Verdict: The SX50 HS is packed with features, but it is also exceptionally easy to pick up and start photographing with, not forgetting its massive 50x zoom, which makes it ideal for shooting wildlife or kids' sport. It has a RRP of R5 000.
8 years ago

Canon PowerShot SX50 HS Digital Camera

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I have had the camera for only a month or so. I bought it because I wanted to take pictures of wildlife, and when I took them with my 5x camera all I got was very small images of the animal.
Pros: 
  • 50x Zoom
  • Good Image Stabilization
  • Short Lag Time
Cons: 
  • None
8 years ago

very well made bag.

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Very good bag and well constracted. the only dowsize is my Canon SX 50HS fits very tight and no extra accesories fit. Oveall very good travel bag.
8 years ago

worst purchase

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: I use a camera in my profession, I previous had a Cannon PS5SX which was a good camera too good clear pictures with great color balance easy to use software, and hence my next camara was a u201dcannonu201d also SX50HS, my first disappointment was the software it used the same easy to use software as
8 years ago
Next >
Page 1 / 2

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

25 Exmouth Street, Eden Terrace, Auckland, 1021

X