Canon EOS M5 + 18-150/3.5-6.3 IS STM Reviews

$1,425.00 - $2,499.00 from 15 retailers
Manufacturer: Canon
Expert Reviews: 
 3.9
User Reviews: 
 4.0
Features
Usability
 4.9
Product design
 4.4
Durability
 4.4
 
 

Canon EOS M5 + 18-150/3.5-6.3 IS STM

4.5
Verdict: Great for the money, do not think you can get more today. However, I have not had time to test it with some EF-M loopholes than just the EF-S and a couple of older manual. Larger than its predecessor. Quick focus both manually and automatically. ISO useful way over 1600 which was my previous limit.
2 years ago
 

Awesome camera but....

4.0
Verdict: I have owned Canon EOS cameras since the first Rebel came out but, this has got to be the best EOS yet. Very easy to operate in auto and manual, clean crisp images every time. I have only one issue with Canon on this camera, the battery.
2 years ago
 

Brilliant Camera

5.0
Verdict: Bought this Camera to see how good it was,I now carry it everywhere and use it for Bird and Wildlife Photography,Lenes used are 300mm 2.8l is mk 2,70-200 2.8l is mk 2+1.4/2 X converters,
1 year ago
 

Good walkaround alternative to the DSLR, and finally the performance is there.

5.0
Verdict: This is what the M1 through M4 should have been - essentially a mini-DSLR with good performance. You can read the specs elsewhere, so I'll focus on why this works for me where the earlier models failed.
1 year ago
 

Great, lightweight, compact travel camera

4.0
Verdict: I purchased the Canon M5 mirrorless camera in December 2017 as a backup for my Canon 7D MkII. It was also purchased as a "travel camera" because of its small size and light weight.
1 year ago
 

Exactly what I wanted

5.0
Verdict: Prefect compliment to my full frame DSLR. Precisely what I was looking for, Prmiarily a Nikon shooter but this Canon is quite good though I need some time to get used to the differences in the menu structure vs. Nikon.. Well made and nice fit in hand. Feels like a mini DSLR.
Pros: very good image quality, fast focusing for mirror less, great ergonomics in a small package
Cons: a bit pricey and could use more fast native lenses in lineup. Battery life could be better but I understand, they were looking to keep the weight down so a minor compromise needed in battery capacity
2 years ago
 

Perfect travel camera - light but highly capable

4.0
Verdict: I've found the M5 to be a great travel camera. Matched with the 11-22 and 18-150 (and the 22mm f2 thrown in) it's light and highly capable. Even used to photograph a wedding recently. I do miss the optical viewfinder that my 50D has, but the digital viewfinder is not far off.
1 year ago
 

Canon EOS M5 + 18-150/3.5-6.3 IS STM

4.0
Verdict: A simple impression on EOS M5 1. Good AF acquisition. This was the top reason to get M5. However, it is not fast enough in tracking for sports. It is okay for slow back/forward movements, while it has difficulty tracking random movements. 2. Many dedicated, customizable controls are very welcome.
2 years ago
 

A game changer for Canon

5.0
Verdict: I have an M1, M3, 6D, and 60D. I never had a problem with quality of the photos from the M series (I have a 2 X 3 foot very clear enlargement from the M1 on the living room wall), but the camera was slow. I hesitated purchasing the M5 because I already had the M3, which also has 24 megapixels.
2 years ago
 

CANON EOS M5 Compact System Camera with 15-45 mm f/3.5-6.3 Zoom Lens & Smart Lens Adapter - Black

4.0
Pros: Size and weight. Ability to use ef and ef-s lenses using the supplied adapter
Cons: Slow update on viewfinder. No tripod attachment supplied with ef lens adapter
3 years ago
 

Too expensive to have bugs

2.0
Verdict: I returned it in case Canon don't fix the shutter delay issues now widely discussed on dpreview. This issue makes the camera a disappointment to use in low light (with or without flash) even in manual mode with manual focus.
2 years ago
 

Too much delivery charges

1.0
Verdict: They're taking too much delivery charges for this camera. If these were not being applied, I would have bought it right now without a second thought as I am such a die hard photographer that I currently have Canon 1200D.
2 years ago
 

Affordable professional quality

3.0
Verdict: I have been a Canon devotee for some fifty years and this is the best. Two quibbles a) on/off button too flush with body, b) landscape shots have image curving on left and right, don't know why.
7 months ago
 

I would purchase again

5.0
Verdict: Excellent camera. Technology features are fantastic
11 months ago
 

The best

5.0
Verdict: I bought this camera a month ago and iam glad that i bought it.it is a very good image and vedio iam very happy with it i do have the sony a6300 a very good camera but the Canon m5 is fantastic i take everywhere i go
Pros: Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Build quality
1 year ago
 

A serious piece of photographic kit.

3.0
Verdict: I bought this Eos M5 as a body and EF lens adaptor only, initially, to use for wildlife shots, when sitting in a hide. I'd heard of other hide users getting annoyed when the sound from the mirror of an SLR going up and down frightened off the subjects.
2 years ago
 

Better Deals out there

4.0
Verdict: I'm a full time professional photographer and wanted a travel camera for my holiday that I could use my own selection of lenses. The M5 fitted the bill. The only disappointing aspect of purchasing this camera from John Lewis is that whilst I was doing some street photography in Salisbury I found the...
1 year ago
 

Great Camera! Just had a tiny glitch on the screen.

5.0
Verdict: I really liked this camera, solid build and great quality photographs! Was very happy with it until I noticed a small white flickering dot on the bottom right on the touch screen. Sent back and was fully refunded for the camera and the shipping. Ordered a Canon 77D.
2 years ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X