Canon EOS M5 + 18-150/3.5-6.3 IS STM Reviews

$1,425.00 - $2,499.00 from 14 retailers
Manufacturer: Canon
Expert Reviews: 
 3.9
User Reviews: 
 4.0
Features
Usability
 4.9
Product design
 4.4
Durability
 4.4
 
 

Check out the Canon EOS M5 with our hands-on walkthrough video

No reviews
Verdict: Featuring a 24.2-megapixel CMOS APS-C sensor paired with a DIGIC 7 image processor, the Canon EOS M5 is the first mirrorless camera to offer Dual Pixel technology for fast and accurate autofocusing.
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS M5 review

4.0
Verdict: There's much to like about Canon's little EOS M5. The 24MP APS-C sensor delivers images with bags of detail, while the polished handling, including a well thought-out control layout that's brilliantly integrated with the touchscreen interface, makes it a nice camera to shoot with.
Pros: Polished handling, Excellent touchscreen control, Plenty of detail in images, Connectivity
Cons: No 4K video capture, Limited lens range, Pricey compared to rivals
1 year ago
 

Canon EOS M5 review: Canon's best CSC yet

4.0
Verdict: Digital SLRs still dominate among professional photographers and amateur enthusiasts of a certain age, but those who grew up with Thundercats instead of Thunderbirds are more likely to own a compact system camera (CSC).
Pros: Elegant controls, Compatible with EF-S lenses (via an adapter, Versatile 18-150mm kit lens
Cons: No 4K video, Limited number of EOS-M lenses
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS M5 Review

No reviews
Verdict: The EOS M5 really opens up the SLR-versus-mirrorless debate. Many people like electronic viewfinders because they show the image exactly as the camera will capture it, but others prefer the visual clarity of an optical viewfinder.
Pros: Very compact for an APS-C camera, Dual Pixel CMOS autofocus, Effective control layout
Cons: Limited lens choice, Some exposure inconsistencies, Expensive compared to rivals
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS M5 Review

No reviews
Verdict: If you have been waiting to jump into a Canon MILC and an APS-C sensor format works for you, the EOS M5 is a great choice. While one may feel a tendency to treat a camera of this size as a point and shoot model, using it for those still-important snapshot opportunities that pop up (it works...
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS M5 Camera Review: Nice Design With Some Rough Edges

3.5
Verdict: Canon's EOS M cameras have been something of a disappointment, failing to translate the company's expertise at making DSLRs into the mirrorless camera market. But the M5 shows that Canon is getting there: This camera has many of the benefits of its larger DSLR cousins (image quality, ease of...
Pros: DSLR-like controls, Can use EF-S lenses with optional adapter, Compact size
Cons: No 4K video, Disappointing image and video quality in low light, Awkward video-shutter placement makes for bumpy video starts
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS M5 + 18-150/3.5-6.3 IS STM

No reviews
Verdict: Canon has taken the EOS M line of cameras to the next level with their M5 model. The M5 brings some serious improvements to the line; increasing the image quality, power, and features that are offered.
Pros: iAuto and Program shooting modes are accurate and easy in all situations, Dual Pixel AF is very fast, Burst shooting went beyond the Canon claims, Great image quality at the lower ISOs, 5-Axis image stabilization was a help when shooting handheld stills, Touch AF is great for selecting an AF point...
Cons: High ISO includes a lot of noise, Touch AF can be difficult when turned on as it will change the AF point every time the LCD is touched (If you are not intending to use this feature, Limited M-Mount lens selection, 5-Axis IS was a little disappointing when shooting handheld video, Adapter adds...
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS M5

No reviews
Verdict: Canon's EOS M5 is widely touted as the mirrorless alternative to the larger, heavier EOS 80D. There's certainly a number of parallels, including a 24.2 MP APS-C sized sensor, Full HD video recording, built-in wireless and almost the same number of focus points (49 vs 45 in favour of the M5).
Pros: Touch and drag, EVF at long last, comes with lens adapter when purchased with bundle
Cons: Shutter lag, EVF flickers a bit, strong competition in its price range
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS M5

3.5
Verdict: Canon's foray into the mirrorless world was fraught with missteps, with its first few efforts lagging well behind the competition in focus speed. The EOS M5 ($979, body only) represents a big change-its autofocus system is speedy, and it can fire off images at a quick 8.2fps burst rate.
Pros: 24MP resolution. Quick autofocus. 8.2fps continuous shooting. TIlting touch-screen LCD. Sharp EVF. Built-in flash. Canon accessory compatibility. Wi-Fi
Cons: Video limited to 1080p. Omits weather sealing. Focus can struggle in dim light
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS M5 + 18-150/3.5-6.3 IS STM

No reviews
Verdict: Let me be honest: I sincerely don't know what to think of the Canon EOS M5. There, I said it. I'm sitting here in front of my computer trying to write some useful insights and I realise I don't really have a clue. Do I like it? No. Do I dislike it? No. Perhaps the best word would be: indifference.
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS M5

4.0
Verdict: Canon launched the EOS M5 just a few days before 2016's Photokina, the massive bi-annual photography show in Cologne, Germany. It was a clear sign that the company was starting to take its mirrorless proposition a little more seriously.
Pros: Nice OLED eye viewfinder, Varied connectivity options, Useful touchscreen
Cons: No 4K video recording, Pricey
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS M5

4.0
Verdict: Canon's latest compact system camera is perhaps the first time the company has launched a CSC for a "serious" audience. The EOS M5 features a 24.2 megapixel, APS-C sized sensor, which is joined by a Digic 7 processor. It is, in essence, a miniature version of the Canon EOS 80D.
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS M5 Review – A Minified, Mirrorless Canon EOS 80D

No reviews
Verdict: Canon EOS M5 is a good package camera all around. Getting a preview image that is about to be taken is excellent. You can save precious time and catch more good moments. I love the EVF and those dials are easier to access. The camera is also small and perfect for travellers who want to travel light.
1 year ago
 

Canon EOS M5 review

No reviews
Verdict: Canon's EOS M5 is the company's highest-end mirrorless camera to date and by far its most satisfying. It's the first Canon mirrorless with a built-in viewfinder, and the first to also deploy the fabulous Dual Pixel CMOS AF technology which allows it to confidently refocus during movies, albeit still...
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS M5

4.5
Verdict: Equipped with a 24-megapixel APS-C CMOS sensor and DIGIC 7 image processor, the Canon EOS M5 offers similar image quality as its predecessors but much improved overall performance. Considering also its inclusion of Dual Pixel CMOS AF, a built-in electronic viewfinder and larger 3.2-inch touchscreen,...
Pros: Enthusiast-oriented compact camera body; Good image quality in most situations; Built-in electronic viewfinder; Impressive Dual Pixel CMOS AF; Very good overall performance
Cons: High ISO image quality and dynamic range aren't quite up to par with some of its competition; No 4K video recording; Native EF-M lens selection is still limited; Below average battery life
2 years ago
 

FIRST LOOK: Canon EOS M5

4.4
Verdict: The EOS M5 is a very welcome addition to Canon's product line-up and arrives at a time when many photo enthusiasts were starting to doubt whether Canon would ever produce a mirrorless camera that caters for their needs.
3 years ago
 

Canon EOS M5 review

4.0
Verdict: Although Canon launched its first mirrorless camera, the EOS M, back in 2012, the company has never quite seemed to take the idea seriously until now. The original EOS M was over simplistic and painfully slow at focusing, and while last year's EOS M3 was much improved, it was hamstrung by the lack...
Pros: + Superb control layout and handling for such a small camera, + Excellent image quality in both JPEG and raw, + Works extremely well with a wide range of EF-mount SLR lenses, + Easy-to-use wireless communication using Bluetooth and Wi-Fi
Cons: Relatively small and over-contrasty electronic viewfinder, Shutter is noisier than most mirrorless rivals, Price is very high
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS M5 + 18-150/3.5-6.3 IS STM

No reviews
Verdict: Canon turned up late to the mirrorless party. Very late. In fact, by the time it finally arrived in mid-2012, four years after Panasonic's ground-breaking G1, every other major manufacturer was already in the game.
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS M5 Review

3.5
Verdict: The EOS M5 finally brings DSLR-level performance to Canon's mirrorless series.
Pros: Ergonomic design, Enthusiast-friendly control layout, Fast Dual Pixel autofocus, Good still image quality, Nice wireless connectivity options
Cons: No 4K video, Lens lineup lacks enthusiast options, EIS no substitute for sensor-shift stabilization
2 years ago
 

Review: Canon EOS M5

3.5
Verdict: The mirrorless camera market was long notable for what it lacked: hardware from Nikon and Canon. Technically Canon has had a mirrorless offering for about four years, the EOS M, but it was a low-end model that felt more like a token gesture than a real camera.
Pros: Small and light enough to appeal to fans of compacts. Very fast and accurate autofocus---one of the best AFs we've seen. Excellent electronic viewfinder and touchscreen for easy and comfortable compositions
Cons: Lacks fast native lenses. There's a lens adaptor, but it costs another $200. Viewfinder blackout is pronounced. No 4K video, which feels odd in 2017
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS M5 review: 'Mirrorless 80D' fails to faze its compact system competition

3.5
Verdict: It's fair to say we've been highly critical of Canon 's compact system camera EOS M line. For a simple reason, though: the Japanese company's mirrorless cameras simply haven't been able to stand up to the competition.
Pros: Small size, big step forward for EOS M series, fast autofocus setup (finally), decent viewfinder and touchscreen combination, access to lots of lenses (via adapter
Cons: Battery depletion issues, autofocus setup can't compete with the best mirrorless cameras out there, high ISO sensitivity shows off image noise, no 4K video, expensive compared to competition
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS M5 + 18-150/3.5-6.3 IS STM

4.1
Verdict: The EOS M5 has plenty going for it. Shooting smooth, properly focused video is incredibly easy, and the new 24MP sensor has made great strides in overall image quality. Dual Pixel autofocus makes for faster, more precise focusing and really makes the M5 shine with adapted lenses.
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS M5 Mirrorless Camera Review

No reviews
Verdict: The new Canon EOS M5 is Canon's first M-system with an integrated EVF. The new EVF of the EOS M5 is based on OLED technology and offers a bright and brilliant image. With a frame rate of 120 Hertz it can refresh rapidly enough to cover even very fast moving objects.
2 years ago
 

Too expensive to have bugs

2.0
Verdict: I returned it in case Canon don't fix the shutter delay issues now widely discussed on dpreview. This issue makes the camera a disappointment to use in low light (with or without flash) even in manual mode with manual focus.
2 years ago
 

Great start.. could be way better.

3.0
Verdict: I like the M5 but I want this to be a killer Mirrorless Camera and so whilst this is a 3rd Canon body for me I'd love to see some improvements in the next version. I did have a Fuji XT2 and whilst it was a great camera it meant I had to invest in a second set of lenses.
2 years ago
 

Great, lightweight, compact travel camera

4.0
Verdict: I purchased the Canon M5 mirrorless camera in December 2017 as a backup for my Canon 7D MkII. It was also purchased as a "travel camera" because of its small size and light weight.
1 year ago
 

Canon EOS M5 + 18-150/3.5-6.3 IS STM

4.0
Verdict: A simple impression on EOS M5 1. Good AF acquisition. This was the top reason to get M5. However, it is not fast enough in tracking for sports. It is okay for slow back/forward movements, while it has difficulty tracking random movements. 2. Many dedicated, customizable controls are very welcome.
2 years ago
 

Great Camera! Just had a tiny glitch on the screen.

5.0
Verdict: I really liked this camera, solid build and great quality photographs! Was very happy with it until I noticed a small white flickering dot on the bottom right on the touch screen. Sent back and was fully refunded for the camera and the shipping. Ordered a Canon 77D.
2 years ago
 

Awesome camera but....

4.0
Verdict: I have owned Canon EOS cameras since the first Rebel came out but, this has got to be the best EOS yet. Very easy to operate in auto and manual, clean crisp images every time. I have only one issue with Canon on this camera, the battery.
2 years ago
 

A serious piece of photographic kit.

3.0
Verdict: I bought this Eos M5 as a body and EF lens adaptor only, initially, to use for wildlife shots, when sitting in a hide. I'd heard of other hide users getting annoyed when the sound from the mirror of an SLR going up and down frightened off the subjects.
2 years ago
 

A game changer for Canon

5.0
Verdict: I have an M1, M3, 6D, and 60D. I never had a problem with quality of the photos from the M series (I have a 2 X 3 foot very clear enlargement from the M1 on the living room wall), but the camera was slow. I hesitated purchasing the M5 because I already had the M3, which also has 24 megapixels.
2 years ago
 

Brilliant Camera

5.0
Verdict: Bought this Camera to see how good it was,I now carry it everywhere and use it for Bird and Wildlife Photography,Lenes used are 300mm 2.8l is mk 2,70-200 2.8l is mk 2+1.4/2 X converters,
1 year ago
 

Better Deals out there

4.0
Verdict: I'm a full time professional photographer and wanted a travel camera for my holiday that I could use my own selection of lenses. The M5 fitted the bill. The only disappointing aspect of purchasing this camera from John Lewis is that whilst I was doing some street photography in Salisbury I found the...
1 year ago
 

The best

5.0
Verdict: I bought this camera a month ago and iam glad that i bought it.it is a very good image and vedio iam very happy with it i do have the sony a6300 a very good camera but the Canon m5 is fantastic i take everywhere i go
Pros: Build quality, Screen size
Cons: Build quality
1 year ago
 

Canon ... Mirrorless ... Homerun!

5.0
Verdict: Can't say anything other than ... Wow! Canon did a great job on this camera and I'd highly recommend to anyone. I'm a 7D Mark II shooter, but am finding that I shoot the M5 more often.
1 year ago
 

Perfect travel camera - light but highly capable

4.0
Verdict: I've found the M5 to be a great travel camera. Matched with the 11-22 and 18-150 (and the 22mm f2 thrown in) it's light and highly capable. Even used to photograph a wedding recently. I do miss the optical viewfinder that my 50D has, but the digital viewfinder is not far off.
1 year ago
 

CANON EOS M5 Compact System Camera with 15-45 mm f/3.5-6.3 Zoom Lens & Smart Lens Adapter - Black

4.0
Pros: Size and weight. Ability to use ef and ef-s lenses using the supplied adapter
Cons: Slow update on viewfinder. No tripod attachment supplied with ef lens adapter
2 years ago
 

Exactly what I wanted

5.0
Verdict: Prefect compliment to my full frame DSLR. Precisely what I was looking for, Prmiarily a Nikon shooter but this Canon is quite good though I need some time to get used to the differences in the menu structure vs. Nikon.. Well made and nice fit in hand. Feels like a mini DSLR.
Pros: very good image quality, fast focusing for mirror less, great ergonomics in a small package
Cons: a bit pricey and could use more fast native lenses in lineup. Battery life could be better but I understand, they were looking to keep the weight down so a minor compromise needed in battery capacity
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS M5 + 18-150/3.5-6.3 IS STM

4.5
Verdict: Great for the money, do not think you can get more today. However, I have not had time to test it with some EF-M loopholes than just the EF-S and a couple of older manual. Larger than its predecessor. Quick focus both manually and automatically. ISO useful way over 1600 which was my previous limit.
2 years ago
 

Too much delivery charges

1.0
Verdict: They're taking too much delivery charges for this camera. If these were not being applied, I would have bought it right now without a second thought as I am such a die hard photographer that I currently have Canon 1200D.
2 years ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X