Canon EOS 1200D Reviews

$681.55 from Gamma Computers
Manufacturer: Canon
Expert Reviews: 
 3.7
User Reviews: 
 4.4
Features
Usability
 4.6
Value for money
 4.7
Features
 4.2
Product design
 4.6
Sound
 5.0
 
 

Canon EOS 1200D (EOS Rebel T5) Review

4.4
Verdict: Canon EOS 1200D Review - The Canon EOS 1200D follows on from a long line of successful entry-level Canon DSLRs
Pros: Good, lightweight design; Great value for money; Performance at higher ISO settings; EOS companion app
Cons: Lacking Wi-fi as standard; Could benefit from more AF points
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D

4.0
Verdict: A solidly-built and reliable camera, that captures beautiful images and offers great experience for the first-time DSLR users.
Pros: Image quality, full support of the Canon range of lenses, Optical Viewfinder, Affordable
Cons: no connectivity options such as wi-fi
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D review

4.0
Verdict: Despite the low price points, the entry level of the DSLR market is very important for building customer loyalty. The new Canon EOS 1200D replaces the Canon 1100D and sits just below the ultra-small Canon 100D as the first camera in the line-up.
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D

No reviews
Verdict: Here we were thinking that we have used and reviewed the best of the lot. Then suddenly Canon hands us the 1200D entry level DSLR, built for the masses. We took the camera out for a spin along with it 18-55mm kit lens during the day and night. The experience just kept getting better.
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D

No reviews
Verdict: The Canon EOS T5 is their newest and most affordable dSLR model. For a dSLR the T5 is very compact and easy to carry. The camera sports an 18-Megapixel APS-C sized CMOS imaging sensor, DIGIC 4 image processor, Live View shooting, Full 1080p HD video capture, 9-point AF system and 3.0-inch LCD...
Pros: All shooting modes produce accurate exposures and overall pleasing images, Live View shooting allows for compact-like point-n-shoot capabilities, Good overall performance, Great overall image quality, Pop-up flash is always ready if you need it, Large 3.0-inch LCD is easy to see in most lighting...
Cons: Lacking the versatile and useful convenience features like WiFi, No continuous AF shooting videos, LCD does not tilt or swivel, Only 1 command dial on the camera body, No external audio input, No built-in Image Stabilization
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D

3.0
Verdict: The bottom line with the EOS 1200D is that it's not a digital SLR camera to go for if you are looking for anything more than a beginner's model.
Pros: Inexpensive entry point into the Canon digital SLR ecosystem, Good overall picture quality, Relatively simple controls
Cons: Focus performance of 18-55mm kit lens was slow and sometimes innacurate, SD card slot in battery compartment
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D review

4.0
Verdict: This 18 megapixel EOS is a beginner's model that an expert wouldn't be ashamed to be seen with, or use. Yes, it's intuitive from the get go, so won't tax the uninitiated. At the same time it's easy to access manual settings and exert a bit of hands-on control over your shots rather than rely on the...
Pros: Sturdy body, Large 18-megapixel sensor, Handy companion app
Cons: Modest burst shooting speed, Non-tilting (fixed) LCD, No wireless connectivity
5 years ago
 

Quick Review: Canon EOS 1200D

No reviews
Verdict: While smartphone photography might have hit the compact camera market for a six, it also enticed many to take photography that one step further into the realm of DSLRs. Canon's EOS 1200D is a no-frills entry-level camera, retailing for R6 000 with its 18-55mm lens.
Pros: Good price; solid image quality; Companion App is helpful
Cons: No in-menu explanation; ISO not to be used past 1600; Low resolution on LCD display
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D

No reviews
Verdict: We've seen quite a number of cameras of all shapes and sizes launched over the past few months, and this time around, Canon has been generous enough to send us a DSLR that is meant for photography newbies, or if you're just looking for an affordable camera for travel and casual use, in the form of...
Pros: Good camera for photography newbies
Cons: Obvious noise and discoloration at higher ISOs
4 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D DSLR Full Review

4.0
Verdict: The Canon EOS 1200D is designed to be the new entry level Digital SLR from Canon replacing the Canon EOS 1100D , and as it's designed for beginners or those new to using a Digital SLR, Canon has released a new app for Android and iOS devices so that they can learn how to use the camera.
Pros: Good value for money, Excellent colour reproduction, EOS Companion App suitable for beginners, and more, Easy to use, Good noise performance, Good battery life, Quick focus (excluding live view
Cons: Entry level kit lens lacks image stabilisation, Doesn't feature an Auto-HDR mode, Slow live view focus, Only 3fps continuous shooting
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS T5 1200D

4.0
Verdict: The EOS Rebel T5, or 1200D as it's known outside of North America, is Canon's latest entry-level DSLR. Launched in February 2014 it replaces the three year old T3 / 1100D. Three years is a long time in this industry, during which time mirrorless cameras have really gone after the budget DSLR market.
Pros: Excellent image quality and noise performance, 1080p HD video with manual exposure, 3 inch 460k LCD screen, Creative Auto mode, Free interactive tutorials for your smartphone
Cons: Smallish optical viewfinder, No effects filters, No scene detect in Live View, No continuous AF for movies, No external microphone input
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D review: Decent performer with greatly improved build

3.5
Verdict: Canon released the EOS 1200D, a refresh to the entry-level EOS 1100D, back in February during the CP+ photo event in Japan. The India launch happened towards the end of March. While some years back, entry-level DSLRs were the only option for those looking to move up from a compact camera, the...
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D

4.4
Verdict: Canon's EOS 1200D, which was announced in February, replaces the previous entry-level DSLR model, the EOS 1100D . Although it's a relatively modest upgrade in most respects, most potential purchasers will welcome the increase in sensor resolution and support for Full HD movie recording at 30, 25 or...
5 years ago
 

A simple model to get you started in the world of digital SLR photography

3.0
Verdict: Canon's EOS 1200D camera is designed to get you started in the world of digital SLR photography, and is a sensible step up if you haven't used such a camera before and want to upgrade from a compact or phone device.
Pros: Inexpensive entry point into the Canon digital SLR ecosystem, Good overall picture quality, Relatively simple controls
Cons: Focus performance of 18-55mm kit lens was slow and sometimes innacurate, SD card slot in battery compartment
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D Digital Camera Review

3.8
Verdict: The Canon 1200D has been deliberately targeted at the first time digital SLR purchaser and to this end it its hits the mark beautifully. In my mind its a bargain given what you get.
4 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D

4.0
Verdict: The 1200D is a superb option for photographers wishing to make the jump into the world of DSLR photography. The controls are simple and accessible, with a range of fully automatic shooting modes, and the EOS Companion app helps users get to know their camera.
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D review

4.0
Verdict: Canon's 18 megapixel APS-C format sensor incorporating EOS 1200D is an imaginative update of its 12 megapixel 1100D predecessor. The obvious pitch is that first time DSLR owners will be able to achieve more professional results straight out of the box, and with more pixels to do it with, via a...
Pros: Affordable, well built, capable of professional looking results for a budget price, intuitive operation
Cons: Fixed LCD screen only, no built-in wireless connectivity, maximum capture speed is modest if you're attempting action shots
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS Rebel T5 Review

3.5
Verdict: For what it is and whom it's intended for, Canon's EOS Rebel T5 is a decent budget DSLR. Yet, it leaves us wanting more.
Pros: Good stills with classic Canon image style, Good for DSLR newbies on a budget, Decent 1080/30p videos
Cons: Noisy shutter mechanism, Even though new, seems like old technology, Doesn't handle high ISOs well, No Wi-Fi
2 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D

4.3
Verdict: When you buy a Canon, you're buying into an entire family of products, from lenses to flashes and other accessories. The Rebel T5 is an inexpensive way to begin shooting professional quality images with a Canon DSLR.
Pros: This camera is affordable
Cons: A lower quality sensor makes for average image quality
4 years ago
 

Canon EOS Rebel T5

2.0
Verdict: Whereas new DSLRs usually push the envelope of image-quality quality, the Canon EOS Rebel T5 is designed to bring their price-point down. It manages to squeeze below the price of many mirrorless and even prosumer cameras by offering a minimal feature-set.
Pros: Low image-noise, Good metering system, Accurate autofocus system, Exposure-Priority Live-View implementation, Generally responsive, Light and compact
Cons: General image softness, Too few AF points, Dynamic-range less than peers, Automatic WB struggles in low-light, Small and dim OVF, Buttons too flush
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D review

4.1
Verdict: Historically, Canon has produced some fantastic entry-level DSLR cameras tailored to the first-time buyer. This type of camera is aimed at someone who is upgrading from a compact camera or smartphone, who may find the functionality of a DSLR a little daunting, and the new Canon EOS 1200D has been...
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D

4.0
Verdict: While compact cameras continue to suffer in the wake of the ubiquitous smartphone, the DSLR market remains fairly strong. More and more novice photographers are flocking to DSLRs as a means of stepping up their game.
Pros: Competitive price, Excellent high ISO performance, Clever and useful EOS companion app, Easy to use
Cons: Autofocus struggles in live view, Few AF points, Slow burst mode, Low resolution LCD
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS Rebel T5

3.0
Verdict: The Canon EOS Rebel T5 ($549.99 with 18-55mm lens) is the latest entry-level D-SLR from Canon, and given the brand name, it's likely the one that first-time SLR buyers will gravitate toward.
Pros: Includes optically stabilized lens. Raw shooting support. Detailed images at high ISOs. 1080p video capture. On-screen shooting guide
Cons: Fixed LCD. Pentamirror viewfinder. Slower autofocus. Burst shooting limited to 3fps. Small buffer when shooting Raw. No microphone input
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D review

3.0
Verdict: EOS quality at a breakthrough price, but it might be worth sniffing out a better deal
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D

No reviews
Verdict: Canon has once again produced a reliable camera capable of creating some beautiful images. If you're in the market for your first DSLR and you're fine with a no-frills purchase, then the 1200D is a great option.
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D

4.5
Verdict: The Canon EOS 1200D (also known as the Digital Rebel T5) is the new entry-level model in Canon's extensive range of digital SLR cameras, replacing the 3 year old 1100D camera. Aimed at first-time DSLR users, the Canon 1200D has an 18 megapixel APS-C CMOS sensor, Digic 4 processor, 3-inch LCD screen,...
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS Rebel T5 / 1200D Review

4.0
Verdict: The Canon EOS Rebel T5 / 1200D delivers 18 megapixels of professional grade image quality in a compact, lightweight, adequately-featured and easy-to-use body that wears a very affordable price tag.
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D

No reviews
Verdict: The 1200D is a superb option for photographers wishing to make the jump into the world of DSLR photography. The controls are simple and accessible, with a range of fully automatic shooting modes, and the EOS Companion app helps users get to know their camera.
5 years ago
 

Canon Small DSLR with 18-55mm Lens EOS1200D

4.5
Verdict: This DSLR is only a little larger than their most powerful PowerShot unit. It is a full featured DSLR capable of capturing very good images and for those that require it also capable of capturing very good video images as well.
4 years ago
 

Canon EOS Rebel T5 DSLR Review: Good for Beginners

No reviews
Verdict: You can't really fault Canon for not changing up much in the beginner-friendly Rebel series over the years. The camera maker appears to have struck a chord with this line; Canon's Rebel T3i still ranks as one of the most popular DSLRs in the industry.
Pros: Compact, light body; Easy-to-access controls; Excellent image quality in good light
Cons: Some graininess at high ISOs and in low light; Poor autofocus in video; Some lag when taking multiple consecutive shots
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS T5 review: Entry-level DSLR offers basics and value, but not much more

3.0
Verdict: A budget camera that gets you started with taking great pictures, but its interface and design are less appealing than those of the more capable Canon T5i.
Pros: Relatively low cost, Great image quality
Cons: Live View focus seems sluggish, Physical controls can be awkward to navigate
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D

No reviews
Verdict: The 1200D feels like more of an incremental upgrade from the 1100D than anything revolutionary, and while images are great, the camera itself isn't offering anything truly exciting.
5 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D review

4.0
Verdict: The entry-level DSLR market has slowed in terms of product releases in recent years. Indeed it's taken three years for Canon to out the 1200D - that's Rebel T5 for our American friends - and while we don't mind waiting for the right kit to come along we do question whether the market has changed...
Pros: Decent viewfinder-based performance for entry-level product, impressive image quality throughout, huge range of EOS lenses available, competitive price
Cons: Live view is poor, JPEG processing is a little harsh, plasticky build, compact system cameras may undermine its existence, kit lens limitations
5 years ago
 

Camera review: Canon EOS 1200D

4.0
Verdict: Canon's EOS 1200D is the latest entry-level model of the imaging giant's extensive DSLR camera range.Coming three years after the entry of its predecessor, the EOS 1100D, the 1200D has an upgraded Digic 4 image processor, 18-megapixel image sensor and a nine-point autofocusing (AF) system.
5 years ago
 

Great camera for someone like me who hasn't used a digital camera.

3.0
Verdict: This is a great camera for someone like me who is starting to delve into the world of DSLR. I used a basic Minolta many years ago and have forgotten most of what I know so the amount I saved over the T5i is worth it to me.
Pros: Great pictures for a beginner, fast focus, dual lenses came with mine so I can shoot close or telephoto. Easy to use with auto mode or your settings
Cons: No auto focus on video, no wifi or other way to connect to tv to view pictures but you can buy an adapter. Does not have true wireless triggering
3 years ago
 

I am satisfying with its quatity.

3.0
Verdict: excellent product for a very reasonable price the operation is also very convenient. Works great does exactly what it meeds to do, and you cant beat the price.Bought it for my mother. She loved it so much that she bought another for a friend. I am completely satisfied.
2 years ago
 

Perfect for non-professionals!

5.0
Verdict: Its my first DSLR camera. It has amazing picture quality and it is very easy to use! Its perfect for beginners or for people who just want to capture the moment. I love the size of the camera. It is very compact and easy to be carried anywhere with you! The battery has very long live!
3 years ago
 

"great camera"

4.0
Verdict: I purchased this camera as a surprise gift for my mom and she really loves it! It has great picture quality and was super easy to set up. Sears delivered right away. would purchase again.
3 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D

5.0
Verdict: i used my camera for many plant, scenic and personal photos of family and friends. I have found this to be one of the best cameras i have ever used....you may want to invest in a larger zoom lense.
4 years ago
 

A Bit Expensive

3.9
Verdict: Advanced point and shoot cameras have been stepping up to the terrain offered by DSLRs. Their price and ease of use is helping them compete with the likes of Canon and Nikon which are known for their high prices.
5 years ago
 

wonderful

No reviews
Verdict: I love this camera easy to use and lightweight. I've always been a Canon fan for many years and they have never let me down. Shipping was fast but the
4 years ago
 

Easy to use, value for money, easy to follow instructions in booklet

5.0
Verdict: Great camera, good quality photos
Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality, Battery life, Screen size
4 years ago
 

"I am very pleased with my purchase. Recommend this to all"

3.0
Verdict: Because there are so many kinds of cameras on the market, I wasn't quite sure where to start looking. The reviews for this product intrigued me, so I investigated further. And I am so glad that I did. Not only is this camera crisp and takes high quality captures, it is is reliable and easy to use.
Pros: easy to hold, good response time, clear captures, easy to carry
Cons: I wish the screen was more versatile
4 years ago
 

Canon EOS 1200D - 18 MP, SLR Camera, Black, 18 - 55mm Lens Kit

3.0
Verdict: The camera is good for those of photographers but if you were planning on recording w video like me. I wouldn't recommend it. .
Pros: it's good for photography
Cons: no memory card. no external mic input
3 years ago
 

Excellent camera

4.0
Verdict: I bought this camera as a Christmas present for my husband. Excellent choice and he's thrilled with my purchase! Excellent value & great price so I was thrilled too!
3 years ago
 

canon eos1200d

5.0
Verdict: great camera my first canon that I could afford, easy to use with an app for assistance, has most features like the bigger versions, I would recommend this camera to anyone just starting up or to be used as aback up.
Pros: compact, light, easy to use
Cons: feels a bit plastic
3 years ago
 

Canon eos 1200d

4.4
Verdict: It is good gadget to take some really sharp picture. I bought this to my sister as she wants to be a photographer. This is cool gadget with cheap price. It is a good camera for the beginers plus it has mutiple functions which I like to use.but it quite heavy.
3 years ago
 

Excellent camera!

5.0
Verdict: I have been using this camera since 7 months now. It has been a great dslr for a beginner like me - super easy to use and maintain. Highly recommend.
2 years ago
 

Small DSLR - Canon EOS 1200D

4.5
Verdict: Great price!! If your looking to get a DSLR camera on a budget and don't want something too complicated, this is the perfect solution. No bells and whistles but it is lightweight, small and easy to use, giving you the capabilities to enlarge you images far bigger than any compact camera.
4 years ago
Powered by
Next >
Page 1 / 2

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X