Canon EF-S 60mm F2.8 USM Macro Reviews

$581.90 - $799.00 from 33 retailers
Manufacturer: Canon
Expert Reviews: 
 4.2
User Reviews: 
 4.7
Features
Usability
 3.8
Value for money
 4.2
Features
 4.8
Product design
 4.4
Image quality
 4.3
 
 

Canon EF-S 60mm f2.8 USM Macro

No reviews
Verdict: Canon's EF-S 60mm f2.8 is a Macro lens designed for cropped-bodies; as an EF-S model it's not compatible with full-frame bodies. When mounted on a cropped-body it delivers an equivalent focal length of 96mm, which combined with a minimum focusing distance of 20cm allows you to enjoy serious...
6 years ago
 

Lens Test: Canon 60mm f/2.8 Macro EF-S USM AF

No reviews
Verdict: Canon's first true macro EF-S (digital-only) lens, the new 60mm f/2.8 ($385, street) gives EOS Digital Rebel, 20D, and 30D owners the same magnifying power (1:1) and about the same field of view (96mm equivalent) as its 100mm f/2.8 EF macro gives full-frame shooters.
10 years ago
 

Canon's EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM Lens; An APS-C Lens That Lets You Get Closer

No reviews
Verdict: If I could, I'd spend all my time hunting down bugs and lizards and any other critters small enough to fit inside a macro lens. Simply stated, I love macro. So I couldn't wait to put the new EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro lens through its paces on my Canon EOS 20D digital SLR.
10 years ago
 

Canon EF-S 60 mm f/2.8 Macro USM

No reviews
Verdict: The last EF-S lens, designed for a small APS-C sensor, that's left for our tests, is Canon EF-S 60 mm f/2.8 Macro USM. It's an instrument which, on small sensors, was to be the equivalent of a classic and already tested by us "hundred", so the EF 100 mm f/2.8 Macro USM model.
Pros: compact, light and closed body, outstanding sharpness both at the center and the edge of the frame from the maximum aperture, small chromatic aberration, very small coma, negligible astigmatism, fast, silent and very accurate autofocus
Cons: vignetting's too large
10 years ago
 

Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 USM Macro review

4.0
Verdict: Many macro lenses are bulky, taking up more room in your gadget bag than you'd like, and weighing you down in the process. By comparison, the Canon EF-S 60mm is as small and light as the average prime lens of the same focal length. Specially designed for the EOS 400D, it's at home with the camera.
11 years ago
 

Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM Lens Review

No reviews
Verdict: I have to admit, when the Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM Lens was announced, I was less than enthusiastic over a new short focal length macro lens compatible only with the EF-S lens mount Digital SLRs . But now that I've had a chance to use it, I think the EF-S 60mm Macro is a very nice lens .
14 years ago
 

Canon EF-S 60mm F2.8 USM Macro

4.0
Verdict: Many macro lenses are bulky, taking up more room in your gadget bag than you'd like, and weighing you down in the process.
7 years ago
 

Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM

4.5
Verdict: A compact macro lens for EF-S compatible Canon SLRs which provides life-size magnification at its closest focus.
Pros: Good resolution performance, Internal focusing, Fast focus speed, especially for a macro lens, Barely any CA, Good control of ghosting and flare, Compact, lightweight design
Cons: No focus limiter switch
9 years ago
 

Canon 60mm f/2.8 USM Review

4.4
Verdict: Designed for use with Canon's APS-C sized sensors....
Pros: Fast and quiet focus, good image quality
Cons: Slower to switch between manual and auto focus
13 years ago
 

Canon 60mm f/2.8 USM Review

4.5
Verdict: This is Canon's first macro lens dedicated to APS-C sized sensors, so it's geared towards cameras such as the EOS 30D or 350D. The focal length on an APS-C sensor Canon camera is extended by 1.6x, so this lens offers the equivalent of 96mm.
Pros: Fast and quiet focus, good image quality
Cons: Slower to switch between manual and auto focus
13 years ago
 

Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM

No reviews
Verdict: Canon-ova serija EF-S objektivov poèasi raste in kljub temu, da so namenjeni predvsem amaterskim uporabnikom, dajejo odliène rezultate. Širokokotnemu EF-S 10-22mm in klasiènemu EF-S 17-85mm IS se je pridružil še makro objektiv EF-S 60mm.
14 years ago
 

Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM Lens Review

No reviews
Verdict: Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM, first introduced in mid-2005, currently remains the only fixed focal lens in Canon's arsenal that was designed specifically for the APS-C type cameras.
10 years ago
 

Canon EF-S 60mm F2.8 USM Macro

No reviews
Verdict: A thoroughly modern design that's optimized for select Canon EOS digital SLRs. Its angle of view is equivalent to a 96mm lens on a 35mm camera, with a floating optical system that can focus down to full life-size (1:1) magnification.
1 year ago
 

Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 USM macro - Review / Test Report

No reviews
Verdict: The lens features a true IF ( internal focus ) design so the front element does not rotate and the length of the lens remains constant regardless of the chosen focus distance. Typical for ring-type USM lenses full-time manual override is always possible in one-shot AF mode.
8 months ago
 

Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 USM macro - Review / Test Report

4.0
Verdict: The Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 USM macro is a fairly recent addition (2005) to the Canon lens line-up. The naming refers to design featuring a protruding rear element which requires a special mirror design to avoid a collision of mirror and the rear part of the lens.
10 years ago
 

REVIEW: Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM

No reviews
Verdict: ePHOTOzine lens guru, Gary Wolstenholme, tests the canon EF 60mm macro lens to see how close he can go.
Pros: Good resolution performance, Internal focusing, Fast focus speed, especially for a macro lens, Barely any CA, Good control of ghosting and flare, Compact, lightweight design
Cons: No focus limiter switch
10 years ago
 

Canon EF-S 60mm F2.8 USM Macro

No reviews
Verdict: The Canon EF-S 60/2.8 Macro lens enables photography down to a magnification of 1:1, which means that you can fill the final RAW or JPEG file with a subject the same size as the APS-C sensor inside a Canon Digital Rebel, i.e., 15x22mm.
12 years ago
 

Canon EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM

4.5
Verdict: Great combo macro / portrait lens. Stop it down just a little and it's a gem. Several of the images I made with this lens have been made into popular landscape prints, posters, canvases. I'll get a surprise when I'm in a strange place walking down a hallway and see one of my images.
Pros: Great image quality from 3.5 on, excellent AF on any body from the 40D on
Cons: A little soft wide open
2 years ago
 

Excellent lens!

5.0
Verdict: Easy to use, top quality images, great starting macro lens for beginner photographers like me!
Pros: Easy to use, Compact, Build quality
4 years ago
 

Love this Lens.

4.8
Verdict: I'm so glad I got this lens. Its great for portraits and of course macro photography is wonderful with this lens. The back ground blur is so pretty with this lens. It hasn't left my camera since I purchased it 2 weeks ago. no IS, but i dont find it's an issue with handheld photo's.
1 year ago
 

Amazing lens, great value

4.0
Verdict: I am a food photographer, and for years, I did almost all my shoots with my 24-105mm f/4. I love that lens and it does a great job, but it can't get very close. Whenever I'm shooting some small dish like an appetizer or a dessert, I'd end up having to frame way wider than I'd like and I'd have to...
1 year ago
 

Good discount

4.0
Verdict: I love this lens it is so cool the 18-270mm of this lens is very cool and the lens is very nice and the discount I got is very good I liked getting rewarded in this manner.
6 years ago
 

Sees stuff better than I can!

5.0
Verdict: I don't know a lot about photography but this allowed me to take close-up pictures of plants and bugs. It captured flower details that I couldn't see with my own eyes. This was worth the investment! Takes really good portrait pictures, too.
6 years ago
 

love it!

5.0
Verdict: This lens does great pics!!!..I can't believe how sharp the image looks....Love it!!
6 years ago
 

Canon EF-S 60mm F2.8 USM Macro

5.0
Verdict: One of the things I like the most about this lens is its portability. If you are a nature photographer, this lens will allow you not to miss macro shots in the field if you are taking with you heavier gear. It fits anywhere!
Pros: Superb Image quality, 1:1 macro, multifunctional (macro and portraits), WEIGHT, build, bokeh
Cons: Only EF-S, does not take KENKO Extension tubes directly
12 years ago
 

Quality lens at great price

5.0
Verdict: John Lewis matched the price I found somewhere else and was ready to coll ct the next day, couple this with a two year guarantee and it was a no brainier. The lens feels solid and well built, the results are superb, you need to remember though that when photographing at close differences the...
2 years ago
 

Obviously it can only be used with aps-c sensors where it is good for portrait and product shots

5.0
Verdict: Only problem with this lens is focus breathing. It is sharp across the frame with virtually no chromatic aberation. Obviously it can only be used with aps-c sensors where it is good for portrait and product shots.
2 years ago
 

NEW FAVORITE LENS!

5.0
Verdict: I was looking to purchase a more expensive macro lens to begin with but found this lens got really good reviews. I'm so happy with my purchase and with my photos. It also takes great portraits. If you are looking for a good priced macro lens, look no further....absolutely love this lens!
6 years ago
 

Great lens for the price

5.0
Verdict: I used it to complete some documentation. It was very easy to work with, the results were excellent and it can also focus over a greater distance than I expected. I can't wait for an opportunity to use it outdoors.The best things were the ease of use and the fast focus.
Pros: Consistent Output, Fast / accurate auto-focus
Cons: Tough To Attach
5 years ago
 

Very good lens

5.0
Verdict: All in all this lens is great. It gives out very clear and precise colors and doesn't disappoint. The lens is almost silent when auto focusing. This lens also is very durable and easy to use. Great bang for your buck.
5 years ago
 

Should almost be an "L" lens!

5.0
Verdict: AMAZING! I bought this lens predominantly for close-up work but its sharpness, clarity and colour rendition is so good that I can't help using it as a general purpose lens, it's THAT good! Of course the fixed focal length is not ideal as a walk around, but I use it whenever I can.
Pros: Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
7 years ago
 

It saves me buying two lenses

5.0
Verdict: I bought this lens instead for two purpose: Macro and Portrait! I was thinking of buying the 100mm macro plus 85mm f1.8 but this lens saves me buying two lenses! I have been very happy with it as what it is...
7 years ago
 

"A perfect entry level macro lens"

4.0
Verdict: I purchased this lens as I started to become more and more interested in photographing bugs and insects close up. I decided on the this lens because it was the cheapest that Canon offered.
Pros: Fantastic, clean, sharp images, good build quality, almost silent AF
Cons: I wish I'd have bought the 100mm
9 years ago
 

First New Lens Ever Purchased

4.0
Verdict: I haven't had a lot of use with this lens yet but what experience I have has been extremely positive. I bought this to round out my kit and was allured by the macro capability. As someone who has never worked with a macro lens before it blew my mind to be able to get so close to subjects &:^D.
Pros: Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Nice Bokeh, Price, Strong Construction
Cons: Slow Focus
8 years ago
 

Great for Jewelry

5.0
Verdict: Disclaimer: I am not a professional photographer. I currently use this with a photo box for my jewelry photography and it does an amazing job. Sure, a 100mm Canon lens would likely give me better still photography, but unfortunately I need to do larger shots and videos in a short amount of time.
1 year ago
 

good purchase

4.0
Verdict: Been looking around for a while macro lenes i found this one it does every thing that you want it to do
2 years ago
 

Great lens for DSLR cameras.

5.0
Verdict: Bought this lens even though saving up for another one and I'm glad I did. Took a macro class to try the lens out and have some great photos. If your on the fence about this lens, get it, you won't be sorry, worth every penny!
3 years ago
 

Canon EF-S 60 mm

5.0
Verdict: This lens is awesome, the clarity is amazing. If you are looking for a good Macro lens this is it. I really love that you can use it for other things as well as Macro. Love this lens
Pros: Clarity, versitality and price
3 years ago
 

Very good quality at a low price.

5.0
Verdict: I am a photographer and this lens I was much needed for shooting subjects eating. I really like that picture that makes this lens. Very good quality at a low price.
6 years ago
 

High quality, cheaper price

5.0
Verdict: I bought this lens yesterday for my t5i and I was skeptical at first. I have never bought a macro lens before and I wasn't really sure what to expect. After playing around with it for a while and taking multiple test shots, I started to get a hang of it.
Pros: extremely fast on non closeup subjects, Fast auto-focus, Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: af can be slow at times
6 years ago
 

satisfied with purchase

5.0
Verdict: I am very satisfied with this lens, It is everything I read about and more. The only drawback is it does not have the image stabilization feature. other than that it is a great Macro lens, and I would recommend purchasing it if you are looking for a good Macro lens.
6 years ago
 

Great lens

5.0
Verdict: Compact lens, lightweight and great quality.
7 years ago
 

My most used lens

5.0
Verdict: I am an novice photographer, but I really wanted to get into macro photography, as well as candid snapshots, so I chose this lens. Being fixed lens, it has better image quality than most zoom lenses. The downfall to this, being the lack a zooming abilities!
7 years ago
 

great for dental photography

4.0
Verdict: use with rebel xsi, mr-14 ring flash, aperature at 29 or 32 and shutter speed 1/60. get great depth of field and incredible detail
Pros: takes great before and after photos of patients teeth. When I put patients pictures up on the screen, I can zoom in on the smallest detail and patients can clearly see and understand what I see. The smallest details are clearly obvious.
Cons: will sometimes hunt for focus, but I manual focus anyway
9 years ago
 

Out of the box performance for newbees!

5.0
Verdict: I just bought a Canon 50D and know nothing about photography. I got the 60mm macro lense and people think I have been taking close-up photograhs for years! Great lense and super easy for beginners especially when paired with the awesome 50D.
Pros: Consistent Output, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons: No zoom
10 years ago
 

Price too high!

5.0
Verdict: Very good lens, but the price asked is way too high for this lens. You could get it for less than $500 at Best Buy, Future Shop and most camera equipment outlets.
10 years ago
 

Great Macro lens

5.0
Verdict: I bought this lens as a "Photography pack, it came with a canon camera remote and a lens cleaning pen.. I use it often amazing results, clarity is excellent, smooth noiseless auto focus.. you could just about catch a bacteria on a gnats bum with this beauty..
7 months ago
 

Brilliant!

5.0
Verdict: Great lens for low light macro and non macro images
4 years ago
 

Convert Family Pictures to Digital

5.0
Verdict: I purchased this lens primarily to convert a few thousand family slides and film negatives to digital. I have not started the project yet, but am making purchases and will describe my intentions. If these reviews can be updated, I will edit this review to include the final results.
Pros: Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Film Copy To Digital, Macro, Nice Bokeh, Portrait, Rugged, Slide Copy To Digitl
6 years ago
Powered by
Next >
Page 1 / 2

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X