Canon EF-S 10-18mm F4.5-5.6 IS STM Reviews

$358.00 - $688.85 from 29 retailers
★★★★★ 4.5
Manufacturer: Canon
X
4.5 ★★★★★
Based on 50 reviews.
 

Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM ($299.99) may feel like a budget lens thanks to plastic construction (including its lens mount), but its feature set and the images it captures tell a different story.
Pros: 
  • Sharp throughout range
  • Affordably priced
  • Ultra-wide angle field of view
  • Optically stabilized
  • STM focus motor
Cons: 
  • Plastic lens mount
  • Lots of barrel distortion at 10mm
  • Some color fringing
  • Lens hood not included
  • Narrow aperture
7 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM Lens Review

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Inexpensive general purpose and telephoto EF-S zoom lenses have been in the Canon lineup for a long time, but absent was a lens that has great value in a budget APS-C/1.6x format DSLR kit: an inexpensive ultra-wide angle EF-S zoom lens.
7 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM

★★★★★ 4.6
Verdict: It's inexpensive, lightweight and ultra-wide, so is the new 10-18mm zoom a must-have lens for Canon APS-C camera owners? Jon Devo finds out
7 years ago

REVIEW: Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM Lens Review

★★★★★
Verdict: Specification This compact ultra-wide angle lens for Canon APS-C format digital SLRs features Canon's latest stepping focusing motor technology, which promises, smoother, quieter autofocus performance, which is especially suited to recording video.
7 years ago

very sharp

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: as a landscape shooter I find this lens very sharp throughout. I wish it was a little faster. I use an 80d and it seems to me that if canon can build a lens this sharp why cant they make all crop lenses this fine. crop shooters enjoy high resolutions pics as much as full frame shooters.
2 years ago

A value for money !! finally from Canon

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: Overall, a well-constructed lens with an affordable price with IS & STM. A wide angel 10-18 (35mm format 16-29mm) IQ is above kit lens. Can sneak into a confined place very well. ideal 4 Video. A good investment for a beginner / armature g photographer Overall 9/10
Pros: 
  • IS & STM + 10-18mm + ideal 4 Video
Cons: 
  • Plastiki
6 years ago

A lot for your money

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This is a very nice ultra wide zoom for Canon cropped DSLRs. It is light and compact and seems durable enough for moderate use. IS can be helpful at times when the light gets low. The AF is fast and silent. The plastic mount is not a real problem due to the fact that the lens is lightweight.
6 years ago

Finally, An Affordable Wide Angle Lens

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: This is the not often used lens that augments my 10 - 200mm travel lens. I could not justify spending nearly double or more for a wide angle lens that may be marginally better, but weighs in at double or more.
Pros: 
  • Compact
  • Good Zoom Range
  • Image Stabilization
  • Light Weight
  • Low Price
Cons: 
  • No Comp Update
  • Thick Filter Vignette
7 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Great lens for landscapes! Love it!
Pros: 
  • Nice wide angle
Cons: 
  • Wish it had a metal mount
4 years ago

Well I may be the only one

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I bought this lens about 2 months ago and was happy with it. Now I find the manual focus does not work. I am able to survive on AF but sometimes I like to do manual focusing to check my eye and I really hate the way AF interferes with flash.
2 years ago

Happy, But ................

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I bought this as a package. The backpack was excellent the filters as advertised, the cleaning package good. the lens hood, however, was screw-in, not bayonet and has horizontal vignetting at 10mm setting. Not Good!! Someone should have noticed this! A bayonet mount hood would not have this problem.
Pros: 
  • Consistent Output
  • Durable
  • Easily Interchangeable
  • Fast / accurate auto-focus
  • Lightweight
  • Strong Construction
6 years ago

Great lens for the $$$

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Not L quality but it was not meant to be at this price point. For what it is, it does the job. 16-29mm on my crop cameras. Nice! I have not tried video on my 70D but the quiet motor should work fine.
Pros: 
  • Sharp Lightweight Quiet focusing Price (thanks Canon for the instant rebate
Cons: 
  • EF-s mount and cannot use on my 5D2
7 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm F4.5-5.6 IS STM

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I held off on buying this Lens for a LONG time because of the plastic mounts - I guess it made me nervous and I thought it would get stripped fast - but reality is that this lens is VERY light in weight and puts VERY little pressure on the mount It has the perfect 'wide' shot I envisioned even with...
3 years ago

Canon Lens

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Bought as a gift for my wife who does a lot of photographing. She loved it. Canon makes great lenses, and this one is a good add to a collection.
6 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 STM IS - Lab Review / Test

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Canon has quite a wealth of ultra-wide angle lenses - the current range includes no less than 3 zoom lenses and a whole bunch of primes. However, it seems as if Canon also wants to compete in the budget arena. They have just thrown the Canon EF-S 10-18m f/4.5-5.6 IS STM into the game.
7 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm F4.5-5.6 IS STM

★★★★★
Verdict: The best aps-c ultrawide you can buy at this price, and even spending twice as much for a similar lens the image quality would be the same or worse. I had a Sigma 10-20 and the Canon is a little better and costs less.
Pros: 
  • Very good image quality
  • accurate and silent Autofocus
  • lightweight
  • inexpensive
  • stabilization
  • full time manual focus
Cons: 
  • Plastic mount
  • small aperture
  • lack of distance scale
6 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm F4.5-5.6 IS STM

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I received this for chrismas and could wait to try it out, Impressed is an understatment. The picture quality is exelent and the lens is very easy to use, and the image stabiliser is impressive, I have hand held a 1\4 second exposure with no signs of camera shake
3 years ago

Great budget ultra wide!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Build quality is decent enough but image quality is great for a fairly slow lens but what can you expect for a super wide ultra cheap lens. Something has got to give and that's speed but using it outdoor on bright sunny days, its fantastic.
4 years ago

Awesome lens

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I just purchased this lens a few days ago from Henry's for my canon 3ti. I am just an amateur at this so at first I was disappointed at the pictures. After I searched around I realized that it was me and not the lens that was the problem. Shooting wide angle is a different experience altogether.
7 years ago

Just what I needed

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: This lens makes any entry level DSLR camera complete in itself by giving range from 10mm ultra wide to all the way upto 250mm telephoto with 2 lense. This should be the first lens I would suggest to buy as a complement to the kit lens (assuming you get dual kit lens from Canon).
7 years ago

Very good budget wide angle lens

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Canon 10-18mm EFS is really nice wide angle lens. It's sharper than the kit lens and other basic lenses(like 55-250mm,50mm f1.8 etc).. I am using it with eos 600d. This lens is very good for video recording. Auto focus is so silent and quick.. I boutght it for around 20k..
4 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM Lens Review

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: This compact ultra-wide angle lens for Canon APS-C format digital SLRs features Canon's latest stepping focusing motor technology, which promises, smoother, quieter autofocus performance, which is especially suited to recording video.
Pros: 
  • Excellent sharpness
  • Lightweight
  • Compact
  • Fast focusing
  • Image stabilisation
  • Very good value for money
Cons: 
  • No hood included as standard
7 years ago

Wide Angle Beginner

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I take pictures for fun, as a pastime ,so don't expect any technical jargon. Value for moneyI think is excellent, quality of build is reflected in the price, its not a solid lump of metal, there"s a good bit of plastic, but this in no way takes away from the function of the lens.Only used a couple...
4 years ago

Love this lens!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I am just at the beginning of my photography journey & I currently use this lens a lo since purchasing a month or so ago. Takes some great quality shots & with the extra wide angle it seems to add a bit of character to even your most avg shot.
2 years ago

Super wide, Super quiet!

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: I just picked this little gem up today and took it to Fish Creek Park in South Calgary. pictures are sharp and the autofocus of the STM motor is fast and quiet. this is quiet and bit cheaper than the 10-22mm USM lens and a LOT cheaper than the L version so if you need an inexpensive decent lens this...
Pros: 
  • Nearly silent Focussing Light weight (also a negative since it "feels" cheap Sharp Images even at 10mm Price
Cons: 
  • Not a very fast lens (f/4.5-5.6 not an "L" lens so not weather resistent
6 years ago

Wide-View Lens

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: It was a gift for my grandson who loved it. He will be using it this weekend.
3 years ago

10-18mm canon

★★★★★ 4.8
Verdict: What an amazing little lens. Super light and small with a built in image stabilizer. This is already selling very well and is very popular with travel photographers who want an ultra wide lens that they can hand hold in low light. It also has STM AF which means it is silent when using it with video.
6 years ago

Amazing Lense! Wiiiiiiiiiiiiide!!!!

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Lovely lense enjoying it however feels like I shouldn't bought it as I'm a wedding photographer and use ot only when I need to get into tight corners and well I'm not always in tight corners :P Over all a good lense however there is a slight distortion at the corners of the image not visible in the...
6 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm Lens

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Lens is light but the image is sharp and wide enough to cover the whole subject. It's the best for it price, not so pricey but good lens to get it done.
5 years ago

This replaced two fixed focus STM lenses

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Will want to use with ND1000 filter which means pre focusing then fitting ND filter to create long exposure effects. I have found one way to maintain focus setting is to switch off the camera when the manual focus ring then becomes inactive whilst fitting Nd filter and then having manually adjusted...
Pros: 
  • Great Picture Quality
  • Lightweight
  • Simple Controls
4 years ago

Wide and wonderful

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Turned up very quickly as usual and has been nothing but a gem of a lens. Landscapes are now so much better to capture
5 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: For the 249 I paid it is a steal! Incredible value. The hood should be used for best results. Using it on the 80D, 100D and now also the M50 and M5. It is ons of my all time favourites. Even nicer than my 9-18 mft from Olympus. For the size on my M-bodies I will check out the 11-22M also.
Pros: 
  • Price
  • IQ
  • size and it has IS and STM
Cons: 
  • Nothing for this price
5 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM

★★★★ 4.3
Verdict: The in-expensive Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM offers more features and much better image quality that you might expect given its price-point, making it a great ultra-wide-angle addition to a compact, lightweight EOS kit.
7 years ago

Fantastic lens

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Incredible wide angle capture without distortion. Auto focus and stabilising feature give fantastically clear photos. Perfect for indoor shots and confined spaces. So pleased I purchased this lens.
2 years ago

Great wide angle lens - paired to Canon M50

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I bought this lens a couple of weeks ago and am really liking it so far. I'm using it with a Canon M50 with a EF mount adapter. So far so good! The lens is pretty affordable and I was able to get the £20 Canon cashback offer too. Quality seems good too.
2 years ago

Great lens

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Great wide angle lens. Got great shots already. Happy with purchase.
2 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm F4.5-5.6 IS STM

★★★★★ 5.0
Pros: 
  • Lightweight
  • high quality lens produces superb images
Cons: 
  • Some barrel distortion at the very wide end but that can't be avoided in any zoom
6 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm IS STM review-so-far

★★★★★
Verdict: Canon's EF-S 10-18mm IS STM is a lightweight and affordable ultra-wide zoom for its cropped-frame / APSC format DSLRs. The coverage takes over where most kit lenses start, but zooms so much wider, capturing vast landscapes, huge buildings, or just large group shots when you can't step back any...
4 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM

★★★★★ 4.5
Verdict: For many years – ten, to be precise – Canon has satisfied the ultra-wideangle needs of APS-C users with the classic EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM lens. After seeing the popularity of this lens take off on cameras such as the EOS 300D, 350D, 20D and 30D, rival manufacturers such as Sigma and Tamron...
7 years ago

Great Lens that does a good job for a beginner!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Very happy with my product, does what I expected it to do and is a good value for money lens for a beginner like me.
5 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM Lens Optimized for Canon EF-S Mount DSLRs - (Aperture Range: f/4.5-5.6 to f/22-29)

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: Great little lens, and for price take nice wide angle shots, even though mine camera is APS-C. Recommended.
4 years ago

GREAT LENS

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: MY LENS ARRIVED TODAY, GREAT LENS, THE MANUAL FOCUS RING IS SNUG BUT SMOOTH FOR YOU MANUAL PHOTOGRAPHERS, BUT SO IS THE AUTOFOCUS MODE ON THIS LENS AS WELL. I USE BOTH. THE PICS I TOOK CAME OUT GREAT. YES I WOULD RECOMMEND THE LENS FOR WIDE ANGLE PICTURES ESPECIALLY LANDSCAPES.. ENJOY
3 years ago

Great entry level wide-angle lens

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: - Value for money - STM Motor is quite, fast and accurate - IS is highly effective Overall a great lens and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good wide angle lens with a budget
2 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm F4.5-5.6 IS STM

★★★★★
Verdict: Canon's ultra-wide entry for APS-C cameras is a hidden gem. Featuring a traditional landscape focal distance and slight 240g weight, it's an ideal kit bag companion. The optics include 14 elements in 11 groups, and seven rounded diaphragm blades, though this is not a lens designed to capture bokeh.
3 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm F4.5-5.6 IS STM

★★★★★ 4.7
Verdict: very cheap yet very useful lens for travelling photographers. but at least mine 10-18 can show very poor sharpness along the edges (and I don't just mean corners) quite often which I think has something to do with build tolerance and consistency of the optical assembly. when it nails it, it's great.
Pros: 
  • cheap
  • very small and light
  • decent sharpness
  • good colours
  • decent IS
Cons: 
  • slow apperture
  • crappy build tolerance or it's just AF accuracy (quite often one edge of the photo is very off focus
3 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 STM IS - Lab Review / Test

★★★★★
Verdict: Canon has quite a wealth of ultra-wide angle lenses - the current range includes no less than 3 zoom lenses and a whole bunch of primes. However, it seems as if Canon also wants to compete in the budget arena. They have just thrown the Canon EF-S 10-18m f/4.5-5.6 IS STM into the game.
2 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM review

★★★★★
Verdict: A real lightweight with a price tag to match, this lens is compact and affordable...
Pros: 
  • Great quality for the price
  • Extremely light
  • Includes image stabilisation
Cons: 
  • Hood sold separately
2 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm F/4.5-5.6 IS STM Ultra-Wide Angle Zoom Lens EFS1018ISST review

★★★★★
The will be the best option for those who want to take the best landscaping photos possible. You’ll be amazed at how well everything will turn out before making the switch from a factory upgrade to a lens that is well-built and resistant to all kinds of environmental elements.
Pros: 
  • Zooming is silky smooth
  • Super sharp quality in every shot
  • Sturdy build and very light in weight
  • Excellent for outdoor and indoor use
  • Perfect for real estate agents taking pictures of homes for sale
Cons: 
  • Vignetting has been reported
  • Some distortion have been reported
  • Darkness may be found on the corners depending on the light setting
1 year ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm F/4.5-5.6 IS STM Ultra-Wide Angle Zoom Lens EFS1018ISST review

★★★★★
With various other options from other manufactures, as well as another entry from Canon, APS-C shooters are certainly not without options for ultra wide-angle zoom lenses. The latest entry into this the category -- the Canon EF-S 10-18mm ƒ/4.5-5.6 IS STM -- is the best bang for you buck for this...
7 years ago

Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM Review

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: The Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM is an affordable ultra-wide lens that includes images stabilization and an STM focus motor, both useful for video.
The Canon EF-S 10-18mm f/4.5-5.6 IS STM ($299.99) may feel like a budget lens thanks to plastic construction (including its lens mount), but its feature set and the images it captures tell a different story. The lens, compatible with APS-C Canon cameras, features an STM focus motor for smooth video autofocus with select bodies, and image stabilization to steady handheld video. There's some barrel distortion at the wide end, and we wish the lens was a bit more sturdily built, but given its price tag and the general quality of photos it's an easy lens to recommend for wide-angle Canon photographers and videographers. The 10-18mm is very compact, especially when you consider just how wide of a field of view it covers. It measures in at 2.8 by 2.9 inches (HD), weighs 8.5 ounces, and supports 67mm front filters. Its field of view is roughly equivalent to a 16-29mm zoom on a full-frame camera, and while the 1.8x zoom ratio sounds modest, the change in angle of view is substantial when z...
Pros: 
  • Sharp throughout range
  • Affordably priced
  • Ultra-wide angle field of view
  • Optically stabilized
  • STM focus motor
Cons: 
  • Plastic lens mount
  • Lots of barrel distortion at 10mm
  • Some color fringing
  • Lens hood not included
  • Narrow aperture
7 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X