Canon EF 85mm F1.2L II USM Reviews

$2,225.63 - $3,699.00 from 16 retailers
Manufacturer: Canon
Expert Reviews: 
 4.2
User Reviews: 
 4.7
Features
Usability
 4.7
Value for money
 4.2
Product design
 4.4
Quality
 4.0
 
 

Canon EF 85mm F1.2L II USM

No reviews
Verdict: The Canon 85/1.2L lens is Canon's fastest and highest quality short telephoto lens. It is designed for full-frame digital SLRs such as the Canon EOS 5D ( review ). If you are passionate about portraits in available light, buy one right now from amazon.com , ( compare prices ).
11 years ago
 

Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM Review

4.5
Verdict: The Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM is a specialty lens, perfect for portraits with a very shallow depth of field. Its unique view of the world earns it our Editors' Choice award. (4.5 out of 5) Editor's Choice Pros Insane light-gathering capability Capable of very shallow depth of field Superb center...
Pros: Insane light-gathering capability, Capable of very shallow depth of field, Superb center sharpness
Cons: Focus-by-wire design, No stabilization, Big, Expensive
6 years ago
 

Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM Lens

4.2
Verdict: The 85mm focal length is particularly desirable in a prime lens because it's so versatile. It's great for portraiture because it provides a good working distance without introducing distortion.
7 years ago
 

Canon EF 85mm f/1.2 USM L II - APS-C Lab Test / Review

3.8
Verdict: The Canon EF 85mm f/1.2 USM L II is one of the little wonders in the Canon lens lineup - at least on an APS-C DSLR. The center performance is nothing short of breathtaking and the borders are only slightly weaker.
10 years ago
 

Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM Lens Review

No reviews
Verdict: The Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM Lens is the widest aperture lens Canon currently makes (review update: the Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM Lens now shares this aperture) - allowing handholding and action stopping in the darkest conditions.
13 years ago
 

Canon EF 85mm F1.2L II USM

No reviews
Verdict: Retaining the impressive optical performance and large aperture of the original EF 85mm f/1.2L USM, this new medium telephoto lens uses a Ring-type USM, high-speed CPU and optimized algorithms to achieve an autofocus speed approximately 1.8x faster than the original.
1 year ago
 

Canon EF 85mm f/1.2 L II (Mark II) Compared to Mark I Lens and to Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 lens

No reviews
Verdict: You should draw your own conclusions based on your photographic objectives and the need for light gathering capacity, background blur in out of focus areas (bokeh), and for autofocus speed as well as cost and weight considerations.
12 years ago
 

Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

4.0
Verdict: The Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM ($2,199 direct) is one of two f/1.2 lenses in the Canon library, and like the EF 50mm f/1.2L USM it's one without a peer in other camera systems. It captures about 30 percent more light than competing f/1.4 lenses, like the Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM , and at similar...
6 years ago
 

Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM Lens Review

4.0
Verdict: Gary Wolstenholme reviews the new version of Canon's flagship medium telephoto lens, the EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM.
Pros: Outstanding sharpness in the centre of the frame, Beautiful out of focus blur, Very good build quality, Very low level of chromatic aberrations
Cons: Manual focus ring could be better damped, Autofocus is slow when compared to slower aperture lenses, Lens can be rotated in wrong direction on the lens mount when lens release button is pressed
8 years ago
 

Canon's EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM; Portraits Plus Optical Speed

No reviews
Verdict: For some time now my favorite portrait lens has been Canon's EF 85mm f/1.8 USM, but now my new favorite is the Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM. It replaces the EF 85mm f/1.2L USM and offers the widest aperture of any lens in Canon's EF family.
10 years ago
 

REVIEW: Canon EF 85mm f/1.2 L II USM

No reviews
Verdict: Here is a lens from Canon that will make many photographers drool, and with the widest aperture in their current EF range, this new model becomes Canon's definitive portraiture lens. We take a look at how it performs.
Pros: Excellent performance wide open and throughout the aperture range, Whisper quiet and fast AF performance, Huge light gathering ability
Cons: Hood (although not front element) rotates with MF ring, Price (Although worth it if you have a genuine use
10 years ago
 

Canon EF 85/1.2L II

No reviews
Verdict: Here is a copy of the Canon press release on the new EF 85/1.2L II. It's very similar to the original version, except that it now transmits distance information to the camera to support E-TTL II flash and AF speed has been much improved.
9 years ago
 

Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

4.5
Verdict: The Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM ($2,199 direct) is one of two f/1.2 lenses in the Canon library, and like the EF 50mm f/1.2L USM it's one without a peer in other camera systems. It captures about 30 percent more light than competing f/1.4 lenses, like the Sigma 85mm F1.4 EX DG HSM , and at similar...
Pros: Insane light-gathering capability. Capable of very shallow depth of field.
Cons: Focus-by-wire design. No stabilization. Big.
6 years ago
 

Canon EF 85 mm f/1.2L II USM

No reviews
Verdict: The 85 mm lenses are very interesting instruments – especially today. Their kind of focal length is perfect for portrait photos and it doesn't matter whether we use a full frame or an APS-C/DX sensor camera. It is worth notice that no other classic focal length offers us similar comfort.
Pros: solid workmanship and a very robust barrel, sensational frame centre image quality, very good frame edge image quality on the APS-C sensor, good frame edge image quality on stopping down to the range about f/2.8-4.0, very good chromatic aberration correction, low distortion, low astigmatism,...
Cons: high price, the manual focus ring works too loosely, too limited accessory kit, significant vignetting on full frame near the maximum aperture, too high coma level
10 years ago
 

Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM Lens Review

No reviews
Verdict: Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM, released in early 2006, is one of the fastest prime lenses in Canon's modern arsenal (the other lens that offers as fast aperture is Canon EF 50mm f/1.2L USM) and replaces the first generation EF 85mm f/1.2L lens.
10 years ago
 

Most amazing lens I have ever owned

5.0
Verdict: Most amazing lens I have ever owned. It's a little heavy but I like that. This lens is a beast. My images are so sharp now. I'm very pleased with my purchase!
2 years ago
 

Buy it!

4.2
Verdict: It's amazing, it's expensive. Just buy it.
6 years ago
 

Super fast and super sharp lens

5.0
Verdict: Pros: Durable, Rugged, Strong Construction, Unbelievably Sharp, Buttery Smooth Bokeh, Consistent Output Cons: Caution Changing Lens, Heavy But Short Is A Plus, Pricey Other thoughts: Results of the images show the pros outweigh the cons.
6 years ago
 

Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM review by kruprathai

No reviews
Verdict: I needed the perfect lens to rent for a newborn shoot, I am a new & growing photographer. This lens exceeded my expectations! The photos turned out amazing! When I invest in my next lens THIS will be it! I was able to use it for SO much more than the newborn shoot! Pros: * It's completely silent.
Pros: It's completely silent. Quieter than the f/1.4
Cons: I needed the perfect lens to rent for a newborn shoot, I am a new & growing photographer. This lens exceeded my expectations! The photos turned out amazing! When I invest in my next lens THIS will be it!
7 years ago
 

very fast but at a cost.

4.8
Verdict: I love this lens, the DOF is extremely low as one would expect. I can shoot in near total darkness as long as I have a light for focus assist. Ambient light looks true and beautiful! With that said however this lens is the worst of all I own for backlit subjects.
Pros: Superior build quality
Cons: Semi-sharp images, chromatic aberration
6 years ago
 

Best Purchase of 2013!

5.0
Verdict: Beautiful Bokeh, people say it is slow to focus, haven't had a problem with it at all! In fact, I got some amazing shots of my german short haired pointer running and jumping with this lens. Amazingly sharp, definitely an investment, but worth it.
Pros: Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Strong Construction
Cons: Heavy
5 years ago
 

Trinity of Portrait

5.0
Verdict: Camera-tech comes and goes, but photography is really just about light. That's why you should buy the best lenses you can afford. They will probably last longer than you.
Pros: 35f1.4L, 85f1.2L, 135F2L - these are the Trinity of Canon lenses. There is no better portrait lens made, period. Due to the depth of field, pairing it with a 5dmkii, 50d or 7d is HIGHLY recommended - micro focus adjustments will allow you to calibrate the optics to your camera body
Cons: None
9 years ago
 

If you can pony up the cash...

5.0
Verdict: This is the lens of lenses. At least in the short tele range. This lens is a professional lens in every way. It is often used for portraits, but it is not limited there. The construction os the lens is superb. 'L' class all the way.
10 years ago
 

Nope. Just not worth the high price tag.

5.0
Verdict: I shoot weddings and bought into the hype that this lens would produce "dreamy bridal" portraits. Well,it focuses like a grandfather clock. Its almost a 2 second count. Way too slow for anything moving,and at f1.2 ask them to hold their breath as well.
1 year ago
 

Super fast and super sharp lens

5.0
Verdict: Results of the images show the pros outweigh the cons. If you want to take really fine portraits, this fast and sharp lens makes it a whole lot easier.
Pros: Buttery Smooth Bokeh, Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Strong Construction, Unbelievably Sharp
Cons: Caution Changing Lens, Heavy But Short Is A Plus, Pricey
6 years ago
 

Amazing Lens

5.0
Verdict: I read the reviews on this lens and the 1.8 and thought a long hard about making the extra expenditure. Many people wrote about the 1.8 that they could not see any reason to buy the 1.2, to them I say then you should not. This lens was meant to shoot at 1.2 and when you do it is a marvel to behold.
6 years ago
 

this is an excellent lens with a fantastic picture

5.0
Verdict: this picture is a fantastic lens, very nice blur in the zone field, and he's very sharp! I don't like leaving a part in focusing! I like it more than my beloved canon 135/2!
7 years ago
 

Beautiful focus

5.0
Verdict: My go to lens for portrait work, no other lens in my bag can produce images like this lens
1 year ago
 

The Canon 85mm f/1.2L - just what do you get with f/1.2L

5.0
Verdict: At nearly $2000, anyone considering this lens must consider this lens to be a specialty lens. When looking at this lens, the two immediate uses for this lens for me were portrait photography and low light/indoor sports photography.
Pros: f/1.2 is fantastic if you know how to use it. So much light and bokeh
Cons: f/1.2 is horrible if you don't know how to use it. Heavy. Focus really difficult
10 years ago
 

Professional Quality Tool

5.0
Verdict: I'm a semi pro Fine Art photographer with many years of experience across traditional film and digital cameras. This is by far the best lens that I have in my bag now. Quality of the images captured is exceptional...
Pros: Amazing imaging control
Cons: Expensive
10 years ago
 

Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM

5.0
Verdict: Compared to the Nikon AF-S 85/1.4 this lens is rather soft and not as contrasty. From f/4.0 on this lens will satisfy my needs but gets never tack-sharp. Rather disappointing for this high price. I tested this lens against the older Canon 85/1.2 and the Nikon AFS 85/1.4.
Pros: sufficient AF and built quality
Cons: poor IQ wide open to f/4.0, very soft from 1.2 to 2.8, never gets tack-sharp
7 years ago
 

Canon EF 85mm F1.2L II USM

5.0
Verdict: This has been on my wish list for portraiture since the original version was released. So when I had the chance to grab the MkII version at a bargain price I could not resist. It's the perfect focal length for a portrait with the perspective being very flattering to the subject and the working...
Pros: Amazing image quality, f/1.2 aperture, f/1.2 aperture. (I know I said already but it's so good I'm saying it twice!, Beautiful isolation of subject from background, Beautiful smooth unbeatable bokeh, Solid weather sealed build, Superb lens flare control especially for a lens of this aperture, Superb...
Cons: Slow focus compared to L lenses or 50mm f/1.4 & 85mm f/1.8, 72mm Filter not standard size for L lenses (Except 135 and 180 I suppose), Cost is huge compared to 85mm f/1.8 which is a d*** fine lens also
12 years ago
 

It Stands Alone As An Absolute...

4.0
Verdict: The 85mm f/1.2L II is a cumbersome lens, requiring attention and patience, and is surpassed by many lenses in most usages of photography. However, its results are simply unmatched within the primary usage of portraiture. It stands alone as an absolute requirement for professionals.
7 years ago
 

It Stands Alone As An Absolute Requirement For Professionals

4.0
Verdict: The 85mm f/1.2L II is a cumbersome lens, requiring attention and patience, and is surpassed by many lenses in most usages of photography. However, its results are simply unmatched within the primary usage of portraiture. It stands alone as an absolute requirement for professionals.
7 years ago
 

Stunning image quality; if used wisely

5.0
Verdict: I bought this lens as an upgrade on the 85mm f/1.8 USM lens primarily to shoot weddings. I am very pleased with the image quality, even at wider or the widest apertures. The main thing about this lens is the colour and contrast over the f/1.8, pictures come out looking better and require less...
Pros: Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons: Slow Focus
5 years ago
 

Beautiful lens

5.0
Verdict: So worth every penny !! The focusing is slower than others.
Pros: Superior build quality, Super-sharp images
Cons: Slow Auto-Focus
5 years ago
 

Excellent Bokeh and a Pleasure to Use

5.0
Verdict: I use this lens whenever I can. It gives a wonderful crisp image with golden and creamy bokeh in the background. It is wonderful when taking photos with the sun or strong lights behind the subject. The only time I don't use this lens is indoors when I am trying to capture a full body portrait..
6 years ago
 

Five Stars

5.0
Verdict: Great
3 years ago
 

Superb piece of optical engineering.

4.8
Verdict: Eversince I bought this lens, I won't do a portrait shoot without it. The sharpness and the amazing depth of filed at F/1.2 is just sublime. I do wish the focus could be a tad faster. If your budget allows it, I highly recommend this lens.
7 years ago
 

Really excellent lense

5.0
Verdict: I choose it for it is the best portrait lens in the world by now, I owned 135f2 before, and want to try more for 85. If you choose 85 1.8, then you will miss the 85 1.2 everyday, just buy it and use it follow your heart.
Pros: 1.Really good quality picture, especially at focus 2.0 or more 2.Really excellent performance in low light place
Cons: 1. The lens is too big 2. Shot at 1.2 will feel a little soft
11 years ago
 

Great lens, but....

5.0
Verdict: I really do enjoy using this lens. Its sharp, I love the extremely shallow depth of field. but there are two poor time about this lens especially for how expensive it is. 1. the autofocus is painfully slow, particularly when the focusing distance is rather large. 2.
1 year ago
 

Simply the best

5.0
Verdict: Just perfect for portraits Just fast enough The smoothest blur you will ever see Best used with pro cameras Just get it.
1 year ago
 

Canon EF 85mm F1.2L II USM

5.0
Verdict: I've had this incredible Lense for several months now. I've shot several thousand photos with it. Each shot is tack sharp, crisp and clear. With the Lense wide open the subject is isolated in a beautiful creamy bokeh (out of focus area). This Lense is great for portrait photography and indoor...
6 years ago
 

wow this lens is sharp

4.0
Verdict: This is not a lens for begginers or impatient photographers. This lens is very heavy and in my opinion this is a good thing, without IS it would be very difficult to use slow shutter speed when hand holding. I would strongly suggest to do your homework before you invest in this lens.
Pros: Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons: Heavy, No Image Stabilization, Slow Focus
7 years ago
 

Killer lens. Awesome images.

5.0
Verdict: Great looking images with this lens. A little heavy, but well worth it.
Pros: Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Strong Construction
Cons: Heavy
8 years ago
 

short and sweet but to the piont,

5.0
Verdict: I do not think i could really add much more than what has been said already. It's heavy,it's slow to focus,looks great on a 5dmkii,the DOF is insane,it's expensive but look at it as an investment,will need some micro focusing to get it in tune,When you get it right the quality of the colours and...
3 years ago
 

Not working

1.0
Verdict: Got this lens delivered to me in great packaging. Attatched it to the camera and got error message. Couldn't get through to Canon very disappointed. The Lens did not work at all. Returned straight away
4 years ago
 

Everything I'd hoped for and more.

4.0
Verdict: This lens is everything I'd ever hoped it would be -- and I had very, very high hopes -- and more. I've owned nearly every Canon L series lens below 200mm, and the 85 1.2 is by far my favorite. I feel like I'm finally at the end of he "journey.
Pros: Amazing bokeh, f/1.2, tough build quality, faster focusing than the Mk I model, and an extra notch of credibility among pros
Cons: It is much larger than you'd expect if you've only seen photos. It extends below the body of some Canon EOS film cameras, which is a bit awkward
11 years ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X