Brother DS-720D Reviews

$297.45 from Printer Consumables
★★★★ 3.5
Manufacturer: Brother
X
3.5 ★★★★
Based on 19 reviews.
 

Brother DSmobile 720D

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: One step above the most basic manual-feed scanner design, the Brother DSmobile 720D ($149.99 list) adds the ability to duplex (scan both sides of a page at once). That gives it more capability than, say, the Visioneer RoadWarrior 3 , which lacks duplexing, but less than the Editors' Choice Canon...
Pros: 
  • Low cost
  • Portable
  • Duplex (two-sided) scanning
  • Comes with capable document management software
Cons: 
  • Although it comes with business card software
  • it doesn't handle business cards well
8 years ago

Great scanning and great performance: for a great price

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Great little scanner that delivers good quality scans for a very reasonable price. Typical Brother quality, and it gets even better from there. My needs are simple: be able to scan business cards or other small documents directly and quickly to OneNote for Mac.
5 years ago

Solid for record keeping but not for professional use

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Ultimately we decided to return the item as we need more professional looking scans. Will be purchasing a more expensive Brother Scanner that has both duplex and a feeder to see if we get a better result. Not a huge slam on this specific model though.
Pros: 
  • - Compact/Sleek - Software does what it's supposed to do and it's pretty intuitive to use - Setup is a breeze
  • Took me 5 minutes to get it going and I was scanning away - Remembers where you want to file things so you don't have to start over from scratch each time - Can dial up/down image quality...
Cons: 
  • - Nearly impossible to feed the paper in such a way as to ensure a clean, straight up and down scan
  • About 60% of my scanned pages came out crooked
  • Not a big deal if you just want to keep personal records but not good for professional looking scans
6 years ago

Love it!!

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: small, lightweight, fast. Since it is powered via USB you can keep it in a desk drawer and just take it out and plug it in when you need it. In my opinion the resolution is good enough for photos, I haven't had any problems with paper jams, it scans little 1.5" x 1.5" as well as a full sheet, just...
3 years ago

Did the job!

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: I like it! It's compact but works efficiently and produces great scans. Lite weight and portable so you can fit in a larger laptop case if using on the go. I'm sure you will find more technical reviews if that's what you want, but if you want an honest opinion of daily use this is it. Great Product!
3 years ago

Brother Scanner

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: I would warn anyone that the disc that comes w/the product is outdated. You will need to download the information for the scanner to work. And, Brother had the worse customer service ever. I waited on line for 25 mins, and re-dialed. Waited on hold 35 mins.
Cons: 
  • Difficult to Set Up
4 years ago

Absolutely awful

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: Reasonably priced and scans quickly, but where does it go after scanning If I have time I will return it
4 years ago

Needs driver updating

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: At present - 3Jan.2018 - scanner driver does not work with MAC OS 10.13.2 The Brother website (support.brother.com) gives an updated driver (dated 02-11-16) which is supposed to be for OS 10.13 but does not work either. Lovely LOOKING scanner - pity !
4 years ago

BROTHER DS720D Document Scanner

★★★★★ 4.5
Pros: 
  • Brother customer support excellent
6 years ago

Brother DS-720D Portable Document Scanner Duplex

★★★★★
Verdict: it is not that easy to find a good performing and reasonably priced portable scanner. I have tried 3 various models and the Brother DS-700D was my 4th attempt in getting a device that I would like to work with.
9 years ago

Saving time and money

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: Earlier this year, I purchased this item. We use it to scan small documents.mwe can more it from terminal to terminal and from workspace to workspace. Now to get the business card scanner working!
5 years ago

Decent scanner for the price

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I purchased this scanner to use as a portable scanner. It does double sided scanning, and is small enough as to fit in my back pack, with my laptop and other items that I carry around. I like the small bag/cover that comes with it, which protects it from scratches.
7 years ago

Brother DS-720D

★★★★★ 5.0
Pros: 
  • This is a high quality scanner for such a low-cost! It scans in high res colour in PDF and JPG
  • Scan everything from receipts and important paperwork to photographs and business cards
Cons: 
  • You can't "preload" the scanner with all your documents
  • You have to feed each page through individually
6 years ago

Value for your dollar

★★★★ 1.0
Verdict: There are many scanners available out there but this one is reasonably priced and suits my needs. I'm currently trying to go paperless for all receipts, taxes etc. The program this Brother scanner comes with allows me to group pages belonging to the same document in one PDF file.
6 years ago

Works as Advertised!

★★★★ 4.0
Verdict: Texas courts requiring efiling of legal docs so had to get first stand alone scanner. This one on sale at Microcenter was supposed to be temporary expedient. Sits on top of desktop box with only USB connection, works perfectly with included software making searchable PDF docs, a key issue.
6 years ago

Suits my needs perfectly

★★★★★ 2.0
Verdict: I use this to scan invoices and other documents to eliminate hard copy storage. It came with a great program called Paperport. When I lost the disk, Bothers had helped to get the program back. Have had it for over a year and no complaints.
4 years ago

Not a bad deal!

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: For the size and price, it is not a bad deal. The editing program with it could use some improvements, but I was glad to get one so inexpensive with any editing program! I am pretty sure if I needed another one (in over a year from Feb 2017), I would seriously consider this device (especially if the...
5 years ago

no updated drivers for apple

★★★★★ 5.0
Verdict: I bought this scanner a while back and it is fantastic or that it it was until brother stopped bothering to correctly support it for mac it works on my pc desk top but is completely useless with my macbook which was why i bought it to use on the move
3 years ago

Brother DSmobile 720D Review

★★★★★ 3.0
Verdict: With its ability to scan both sides of a document, the Brother DSmobile 720D is a bit more capable than most portable manual-feed scanners.
One step above the most basic manual-feed scanner design, the Brother DSmobile 720D ($149.99 list) adds the ability to duplex (scan both sides of a page at once). That gives it more capability than, say, the Visioneer RoadWarrior 3($99.99 at Amazon), which lacks duplexing, but less than the Editors' Choice Canon imageFormula P-215 Scan-tini Personal Document Scanner($99.99 at Amazon), which also adds an automatic document feeder (ADF). The DS-720D($99.99 at Amazon) also sits between those two in size, weight, and price, making it an obvious candidate if you need to duplex but rarely scan documents longer than one or two pages. At 1.6 by 11.4 by 2.6 inches (HWD), the DS-720D is only a little bigger than simplex (one-sided) scanners like the RoadWarrior 3 or Brother DSmobile 620($99.99 at Amazon). It's also only a few ounces heavier, at one pound, two ounces. On the other hand, it's both smaller than, and only about half the weight of, the P-215. That's enough of a difference to ma...
Pros: 
  • Low cost
  • Portable
  • Duplex (two-sided) scanning
  • Comes with capable document management software
Cons: 
  • Although it comes with business card software, it doesn't handle business cards well
8 years ago

Find, compare prices and buy from NZ's best online shops.

25 Exmouth Street, Eden Terrace, Auckland, 1021

X