Apple MacBook Air 2018 MREC2 Core i5 1.6GHz 8GB 256GB 13in Reviews

$2,062.57 - $2,194.99 from 3 retailers
Manufacturer: Apple
Expert Reviews: 
 3.9
User Reviews: 
 4.6
 
 

Apple MacBook Air 2018 MREC2 Core i5 1.6GHz 8GB 256GB 13in

No reviews
Verdict: Apple says the MacBook Air is "the most beloved notebook ever," and it's not wrong. The huge success of the original Air had ripple effects throughout the industry, but it has languished in recent years.
Pros: Finally, a Retina display, Touch ID but no Touch Bar, Finally, a Retina display, Touch ID but no Touch Bar
Cons: $200 more than the old MacBook Air, Everyone's favorite keyboard is gone, No USB-A ports, $200 more than the old MacBook Air, Everyone's favorite keyboard is gone, No USB-A ports
1 year ago
 

Apple MacBook Air 2018 (i5, 256 GB) Laptop Review

4.0
Verdict: After our time with the new MacBook Air, we are still struggling with the verdict. Besides the device itself, you also have to consider Apple's other laptops, especially the two 13-inch MacBook Pro models. But let's start with the new Air first.
Pros: high quality case, good screen, 2x USB-C w/ Thunderbolt 3, long battery runtime, great touchpad, Touch-ID fingerprint scanner, often silent operation, very good speakers, decent everyday performance
Cons: comparatively low CPU performance, display is not as good as on the MacBook Pros, only USB-C and stereo jack, fan is way too loud for this level of performance, long charging time, old Wi-Fi module without Bluetooth 5.0, no SD reader, very high prices for storage upgrades
1 year ago
 

Apple MacBook Air 2018

3.5
Verdict: The MacBook Air 2018 features Intel's 8th gen Core-i5 processor, 8GB RAM and a gorgeous retina display with a resolution of 2560x1600 and it packs all this into a smaller and lighter chassis than its predecessor
Pros: Weighs lesser than before, Gorgeous, colour accurate display, Great battery life
Cons: No 16GB RAM variant available in India, Two Thunderbolt 3 ports not enough
12 months ago
 

Apple MacBook Air 2018 MREC2 Core i5 1.6GHz 8GB 256GB 13in

4.2
Verdict: I'm going to let you in on a secret: In the lead-up to Apple's big Mac-and-iPad event last month, Team Engadget had a prewritten story ready to go in the event that Apple finally killed off the Air line. Needless to say, that article never saw the light of day.
1 year ago
 

Apple MacBook Air

4.0
Verdict: Editor's note, Nov. 16 : Originally published Nov. 6, this review has been updated with final benchmark and battery life scores, as well as a review rating. Apple's MacBook Air has gotten a much-needed reboot, keeping the name, but changing just about everything else, both outside and in.
Pros: The MacBook is now smaller and lighter, with a better display, faster processors and a bigger touchpad. The MacOS experience and all-day battery are still big selling points
Cons: The starting price has shot up significantly, despite sticking with dual-core CPUs. The shallow butterfly keyboard and limited ports may feel like a step back from the previous Air
1 year ago
 

Apple MacBook Air 2018 review: A long-awaited fresh Air

4.5
Verdict: Apple's lightest and slimmest notebook ever, Air, finally gets the retina update that Apple users have been waited long for. It was a decade ago when Steve Jobs shocked Apple fans after he pulled out the slimmest laptop out of an envelope on stage.
11 months ago
 

Apple MacBook Air (2018) review: Perfectly sculpted, adequately powered

3.0
Verdict: For a machine that provides such a visually enjoyable user experience, we really wanted the MacBook Air to deliver under the hood too. However, the poor battery life and intermittently sluggish performance were hard to ignore and, when compared to other rivals in its class, it's difficult to justify...
Pros: Beautiful Retina display, Superb keyboard, Visually stunning design
Cons: Lacklustre battery life under load, Performance doesn't stack up to rivals in its field
11 months ago
 

Apple MacBook Air (2018)

4.0
Verdict: Ultimately, if you must have a macOS machine for casual use, the MacBook Air will not let you down. More capable than the 12-inch MacBook, with its single I/O port, and less expensive than the MacBook Pro, this laptop offers a thoroughly excellent experience for performing casual computing tasks and...
Pros: Retina Display offers vivid colors. Very comfortable Force Touch trackpad. Secure boot capability. Two Thunderbolt 3 ports. Excellent battery life
Cons: No CPU configuration options. Y-series, not U-series, CPU. No touch screen. No USB Type-A ports or dedicated video output. Shallow key travel. Expensive as configured. Occasional fan noise
1 year ago
 

Apple MacBook Air (2018) review: the present of computing

3.8
Verdict: The fan is blowing on this brand-new MacBook Air with Retina Display. It's a familiar sound: a computer trying to cool down a processor that's being overtaxed by one of the eight or so apps I have running. (In this case, it's TweetDeck going rogue.
Pros: Retina Display, Touch ID, Great new trackpad, Superb build quality
Cons: Display doesn't get super bright, Not a huge speed upgrade, USB-C ecosystem still a hassle, For $100 more, you can get a more powerful 13-inch MacBook Pro or smaller 12-inch MacBook
1 year ago
 

Apple MacBook Air (2018) Review

No reviews
Verdict: Apple is finally bringing a much-needed overhaul to its MacBook Air, its most affordable MacBook. Sure, there have been internal upgrades - such as the 2017 MacBook Air which saw a miniscule processor update - but it didn't stop the MacBook Air from looking like a laptop from, well, 2015.
Pros: Great build quality, nice design, Touch ID is useful, Retina screen looks sharp
Cons: Expensive, No longer the most portable MacBook
1 year ago
 

Apple MacBook Air (Latest Model-2018) Review

4.0
Verdict: The Apple MacBook Air (2018) delivers the much-anticipated update into the already excellent premium line of thin-and-light laptops, backed by new features, better design and solid components that will make Apple Fans happy.
8 months ago
 

Apple MacBook Air 2018 MREC2 Core i5 1.6GHz 8GB 256GB 13in

No reviews
Verdict: The MacBook Air is an icon : A wedge-shaped computer fashioned from a block of aluminum into a device so thin it can fit in a paper envelope. But other laptop makers have riffed on Apple's idea in the last ten years.
Pros: It's pretty, light, and almost affordable for a Mac
Cons: There are better Mac laptops, and cheaper Windows ones
11 months ago
 

Apple MacBook Air (2018) review: Return of the Mac

4.0
Verdict: It's over a decade since the very first MacBook Air went to market, heralding in the era of the ultra-thin notebook. Indeed, it was the thinnest available at the time. But oh how times move fast and the MacBook Air had been becoming something of a relic; a laptop surrounded by Windows-based...
Pros: High-res โ€˜Retina' display with smaller bezel than previous Air models, Large trackpad with Force Touch control, Touch ID login via fingerprint is great, Smaller and lighter footprint adds to appeal
Cons: Loud and sometimes unresponsive keyboard, Only Thunderbolt 3 (USB-C) ports and no SD card slot, Confuses the MacBook/Air/Pro lineup, No Face ID, Strong Windows 10 competition now
1 year ago
 

MacBook Air 2018 Review: Apple's most popular Mac gets an impactful upgrade

4.0
Verdict: Apple has repeatedly described the MacBook Air as the most popular Mac in its lineup, with years of neglect leaving some intimidatingly large shoes for the new 2018 upgrade to fill.
Pros: Current Hardware, MacBook Air, Mac, Review, reviews
1 year ago
 

Excellent laptop

5.0
Verdict: This product is excellent, very easy to set up with the Apple account. Very slim and handy to carry around. Looks appealing with a lovely colour. I use this for University and it's the best laptop I've had. Simple to download Microsoft Office and the email app is great.
10 months ago
 

Fantastic product convenient site

5.0
Verdict: "I use AO for everything and this is my 4th major purchase from them. The laptop arrived as promised with regular updates so I could hide it. The box was well wrapped and the driver was courteous. The laptop is as photographed and the colour is beautiful. Very stylish and classy.
11 months ago
 

Apple MacBook Air 2018 MREC2 Core i5 1.6GHz 8GB 256GB 13in

2.0
Verdict: Does not hold charge and is slow, slow, slow. I hate this computer and it's too late to return it. Waste of money and so frustrating to spend 1500 buck on a worthless product. Hope I can find someone who builds computers who can help me fix issues.
7 months ago
 

Great computer

5.0
Verdict: Bought this Mac one month ago, absolutely love it. Thought it would be hard to navigate after using a PC but was really easy to pick up. Some great features and so lite weight. Only negative comment would be that need adapters can't use a regular USB or ear phones.
7 months ago
 

MacBook Air 2018

4.0
Verdict: Great product worth the money without a question after all it is a Mac and the retina display is amazing. Strong suggestion spend the extra money and get the larger hard drive. Costco benefit is 2 year warrantee not standard Apple 1 year also priced at the Apple education level which saves about...
11 months ago
 

Hesitated to much

4.0
Verdict: I was so confused about which laptop to buy, I went around getting loads of advice, annoyed with myself because I kept coming back to apple (don't like the price) It simple to use, easy to use with all my other apple products, 2 year guarantee in JL swung it for me and also knowing I can get free...
4 months ago
 

Very disappointed

5.0
Verdict: Arrived our first macbook today unfotunately its faulty, no power at all despite charging it for almost 5 hours, rang apple but cant help us and apple suggest to return it back where we ordered it.... gutted.
9 months ago
 

Beautiful, lightweight and a great 2nd laptop for traveling

5.0
Verdict: I already own a 15 MacBook Pro 2015 and have never had a problem but I wanted something much lighter for traveling and love this new MacBook Air. With iCloud, Google Drive, and Dropbox, it makes it easy to work across both laptops. Delivery from B&H was quick and came on time as expected via FedEx.
9 months ago
 

Rocking Air MacBook

5.0
Verdict: Mac book air so amazing ..retina display just rocks, finger print scanner tops,audio superb,I updated from 11 to 13 such a small change but such a great impact.
10 months ago
 

I love Apple products

5.0
Verdict: So far only good comments about the products.
9 months ago
 

The product was everything as pictured

5.0
Verdict: Always when buying computers I'm skeptical. But, here at the Microcenter they ensured that all my needs were me, helping me find a macbook that was best fit for me and my needs. The computer was brand new and everything came nicely packaged in the original mac box with plastic.
2 months ago
 

Great Lightweight compact machine for everyday computing needs.

5.0
Verdict: I bought this last week, and haven't had a great deal of time to use it. But because I am so confident on Apple's guarantees, I have no worry about quality. I hadn't had a laptop for a while as I have the I pad Pro, so it has been refreshing to be able to type on a quality light touch keyboard...
1 year ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X