AMD Ryzen 7 1700 3.0GHz Reviews

$297.50 - $552.58 from 3 retailers
Manufacturer: AMD
Expert Reviews: 
 4.5
User Reviews: 
 4.8
Features
Performance
 5.0
 
 

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 Review

No reviews
Verdict: A couple of days ago we reviewed the Ryzen 7 1700X, a member of AMD's much anticipated replacement for the aging FX series processors. We came away quite impressed. It offered performance rivaled many more expensive processors from Team Blue.
2 years ago
 

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 CPU Review

No reviews
Verdict: One of the biggest changes in recent PC hardware history has been the move away from the option of buying a cheap CPU and overclocking the chuff out of it to get a very similar level of performance to the higher models for a lot less money. This has been for two reasons largely.
2 years ago
 

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 Review

5.0
Verdict: For this review we peeked at the most affordable 8-core Ryzen 7 processor from AMD, the 1700. Quite honestly, this processor oozes value as at 329 USD this likely is the processor to get. It again is short from amazing to see how fast this processor really is, yes even this 3.0 Ghz base-clock one.
2 years ago
 

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 3.0GHz

4.8
Verdict: AMD's Ryzen 7 1700X and 1700 are excellent 8-core/16-thread CPUs offering core counts and performance we never expected to see at price points that the masses can afford.
Pros: Excellent Multi-Threaded Performance, 1800X Performance at $100-$170 Less, Lower Power of the 1700, Broadwell-like IPC, SoC To the Next Level
Cons: Gaming at 1080p and Lower, Ease of Overclocking
2 years ago
 

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 Processor Review

No reviews
Verdict: I have been covering the tech scene for a long time, over 10 years now. I cannot remember a time
Pros: – Great multithreaded performance, – Significant singlethreaded performance increase over Bulldozer, – Lower TDP than i77700K, – 8cores, 16threads for only $329
Cons: – Poor gaming performance compared to Intel, – Memory compatibility issues, – Platform is very new
2 years ago
 

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 Retail CPU Overclocking X 2

No reviews
Verdict: We have seen what the Ryzen 7 1700 sampled to us by AMD would do when it comes to overclocking, but what happens when you purchase a 1700 CPU We went out and purchased one online and one locally and put these to test to find out their overclocking prowess. Not all CPUs are created equally.
2 years ago
 

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 Processor Review

No reviews
Verdict: Ryzen 7 1700 is the lowest priced octa-core AMD processor for the AM4 platform and features 3GHz base clock, with a Precision Boost + XFR to a total of 3750MHz. While at stock speeds Ryzen 7 1700 does clearly perform under the flagship, we have had a nice surprise when we did try to overclock the...
2 years ago
 

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 3.0GHz

4.0
Verdict: That said, even if you're leaning in that direction, it may be worth it to wait a few months and see if AMD's 1080p gaming performance looks like it's improving, thanks to patches and driver updates.
Pros: Twice the cores and threads as Intel's competing Core i7-7700K, at a slightly lower price, Our test chip hit nearly 4GHz in overclocking
Cons: Single-core and 1080p gaming performance lag behind Intel's comparable Kaby Lake chips
2 years ago
 

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 Review

No reviews
Verdict: What we have here is somewhat of an overclocker's dream. While anything much over 4GHz is going to be tricky, at least until we see improvements AMD's end, the Ryzen 7 1700 is still able to dish out a 1GHz overclock over its base frequency of 3GHz and this has big ramifications for two reasons.
2 years ago
 

AMD Ryzen 7 1700

4.5
Verdict: However, this allows for the second key difference between the 1700 and 1800X, which is that the latter has a TDP of just 65W. That's an astonishingly low amount of power for an eight-core processor.
Pros: Beats Intel 7700K in multi-threaded tests, The cheapest 8-core processor you can buy, Great value for multi-threaded performance, Unlocked for easy overclocking, Whole CPU range fits one motherboard, Low default power draw
Cons: Intel 7700K much faster in single-thread tests, High power draw when overclocked, Quad-core Intel chips better for games
2 years ago
 

Ryzen 7 1700 CPU by AMD Review

No reviews
Verdict: Comparing the results of the Ryzen 7 1700 benchmarks to the the Core i7-7700K , it is clear that, in some testes (like the Cinebench R15), the Ryzen 7 1700 is far superior (because of its number of cores and threads).
2 years ago
 

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 CPU

No reviews
Verdict: The 1700 performs well in heavily threaded workloads, but lags behind Intel's quad cores in most gaming scenarios. However, the Ryzen 7 1700 also offers the lowest entry-level price point for a modern eight-core processor and features enough overclocking headroom to trade blows with the more...
Pros: Unlocked ratio multiplier, Low-cost eight core, 65W TDP, Bundled cooler
Cons: Lower stock performance than other Ryzen 7 models, Lower game performance than Intel processors, Poorly optimized software ecosystem
2 years ago
 

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 Review

No reviews
Verdict: The AMD Ryzen 7 1700 is hands-down my favorite processor simply because I'm an overclocker and I can get it to perform as good as the higher-end models without incurring the cost. For those who have the money to spend and want the fastest speed out of the box, it's the Ryzen 7 1800X while the Ryzen...
2 years ago
 

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 CPU Review

4.5
Verdict: Ryzen 7 has already proven to be a worthy contender for Intel's LGA 2011-3 set of processors thanks to its similar, or sometimes better, performance levels and significantly cheaper cost. That metric is stretched even further with the 8C16T Ryzen 7 1700 that ships at just £330.
Pros: Excellent multi-threaded performance that is vastly superior to that of the Core i7-7700K, Competitive performance against Intel processors three times its price, Up to 3.75GHz XFR frequency helps single-threaded performance, Unlocked CPU multiplier and overclocked to the same 4.0GHz as our Ryzen 7...
Cons: Gaming performance is not best suited for ultra-high refresh rates and trails i7-7700K levels (outside of GPU-limited scenarios), Lower memory frequency support compared to Kaby Lake
2 years ago
 

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 (14nm Zen)

No reviews
Verdict: The launch of AMD Ryzen 7 CPUs has largely been greeted with positivity by the media and most forum users. Their undeniable strength rests with massive multi-core capability at prices that are 2-3x cheaper than select Core i7 chips manufactured by Intel.
Pros: 8 cores, 16 threads for under £320, Impressive multi-core performance, Lower TDP than 1700X or 1800X, Wide range of modern AM4 boards, Makes Core i7 X99 seem ultra-expensive
Cons: Single-thread is good but not great, Gaming optimisations still needed
2 years ago
 

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 Review

4.0
Verdict: Why spend more? As it turns out, AMD's Ryzen 7 1700 offers the best value of any of the new chips at just $329, provided you're willing to roll up your sleeves and spend a little time overclocking.
Pros: Strong multi-core performance, Sky-high overclocking made easy, Excellent value, Clear upgrade path
Cons: Extra cores aren't useful in gaming, Some tinkering required
2 years ago
 

AMD Ryzen R7 1700 AM4 8-Core Processor Review

No reviews
Verdict: The Ryzen R7 1700 is a competitively priced offering that can give you 90% of the thrills of the R7 1800X (while both are overclocked), making it an attractive choice for those building an AM4 based gaming system or workstation.
Pros: Competitive price, 8-Core w/ 16 Threads, New AM4 platform, Very easy to overclock, Can closely match the 1800X while overclocked, Precision Boost and XFR, Excellent performance in rendering (Cinebench, Good gaming performance
Cons: None
2 years ago
 

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 8 Cores,16 Threads, UNLOCKED, up to 3.7Ghz Precision Boost Freq, Socket AM4, 20MB total Cache , 65W TDP , Includes 95W AMD Wraith Spire Cooling Solution

No reviews
Verdict: Best bang for your buck. this is an impressive CPU, everything I have thrown at it so far has worked fine and in way less time than my older CPU. I have happy with this purchase.
2 years ago
 

Great bang for buck

5.0
Verdict: If you can get this on special for under $400 it is pretty much a steal. If you need a workhorse CPU for productivity, rendering, "megatasking" or using highly threaded apps, then don't bother wasting your time and money looking at Intel offerings.
Pros: Stock cooler with some (optional) Arctic MX-4 thermal paste works extremely well. Can keep my CPU under 80C @ 3.8ghz (full load) 3D Rendering speeds at that frequency are amazing. Just 6 months ago one needed to spend $1600 for the same rendering performance with an Intel 6900k or a Xeon.
Cons: I think I lost the silicon lottery as no voltage / frequency combo whatsoever even with LLC enabled seems to be 100% stable past 3.8ghz even at non-extreme temperatures. Not really a weakness, but just be aware that not all of them will go to 4.00ghz.
2 years ago
 

Soooper doooper

5.0
Verdict: Seriously though... Great processor. Great cooler. Best price. And not as susceptible to the Meltdown issue facing Intel! Give it a try. I'm very satisfied with the putchase. Plus 65W power usage is great! No more 100+ watt processors please.
1 year ago
 

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 3.0GHz

5.0
Verdict: I am very pleased. Ready all the latest games with good flow and are very effective in multi-threaded scenarios as well. The included Wraith cooler can handle about 3.85Ghz without any problems, and it's very easy to clock up the processor to 1800X performance, making it extremely affordable.
2 years ago
 

Truly God-Tier Mid-Range CPU

5.0
Verdict: My experience with this chip has been glorious. I upgraded to this from an i5 4440S, and the boost in game performance has been surprising - I didn't realize how much of a bottleneck my CPU was. It's been fun maxing out sliders in games that previously gave me choppy performance at max settings.
1 year ago
 

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 3.0GHz

5.0
Verdict: I upgraded from a poor mans A8-5500. This thing is next gen stuff. Not upgraded my gpu from a GTX 660 yet so not gamed as much. But honestly I have never seen this thing break past 20% usage. Often times it's at 1%. May be overkill but feels good. Just remember to get compatible RAM.
1 year ago
 

Great for video/picture editing and gaming

5.0
Verdict: Whilst not top of the Ryzen i7 range this is an excellent cpu with excellent overclocking possibilities and is superb value. I do a lot of video and picture editing with some flight sim and some gaming thrown in. Handles everything I ask of it without straining itself.
1 year ago
 

Works good

5.0
Verdict: Runs good top am4 5 star ,,, all I nead USA power box and hard drive
2 years ago
 

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 3.0GHz

5.0
Verdict: Upgraded from a Phenom II x6 finally after seeing how bad bulldozer was for years. Almost pulled the trigger on a 4670k a few years prior because Intel's 4/4 were finally better than my 6/6 at everything. I briefly considered biting the cost of a 6800k.
Pros: -fast per core performance, -amazing SMT implementation scales better than Intel's, -8 cores, -price performance cores, -AMD promise to stay on AM4 for 4 years
Cons: -doesn't go past 4.1 even on the best chips, -3.8 is best before power scaling starts to really jump up
2 years ago
 

High price for low price get it from local dealers

5.0
Verdict: Hi price it cost Rs. 16,950/- at laminton road, mumbai. Why this nonsence deals charging high price. My configuration R7 1700 - for 16,950 asus b350ma Motherbord - 7550 16gb 3000ghz Ram 12,200.
2 years ago
 

Really good product

4.0
Verdict: Its fast. Handles multiple tasks at incredible speeds. The stock cooler that comes with it is really nice, keeps it below 55C. Plus it has an LED ring.
2 years ago
 

Ryzen is love, Ryzen is life.

5.0
Verdict: Simply amazing. I'm so happy with AMD and their current success. I bought this before the price cuts but I can't even complain about it. Great pricing, great performance.
1 year ago
 

AMD Ryzen 7 1700 3.0GHz

4.0
Verdict: I love this.. AMD back again!!!
2 years ago
 

Great Processor with Promising Platform

5.0
Verdict: I bought this processor long before I was able to secure a suitable board, but I can't take points off for that. I am not sure what batch the processor is from, but it reads made in Malaysia and not China... one of the few that I've seen.
Pros: Fast, cool, low power 8-core desktop processor. Easy to overclock with the right board and chews through heavier multitasking
Cons: Stock clock is a bit low for a modern CPU, limited OC potential compared to previous AMD chips, included cooler is mostly unremarkable
2 years ago
Powered by

Find, compare and buy online from NZ's best online shops.

PO Box 37761, Parnell, Auckland 1052, New Zealand

X